Government of Canada

Government of Canada

March 28, 2014 16:00 ET

Harper Government Supports Top Researchers, Encourages Brain Gain at Canadian Post-Secondary Institutions

VANCOUVER, BRITISH COLUMBIA--(Marketwired - March 28, 2014) - Canada Research Chairs Secretariat

Kerry-Lynne D. Findlay, Minister of National Revenue, on behalf of Ed Holder, Minister of State (Science and Technology), today announced support for 102 new and renewed Canada Research Chairs at 33 post-secondary institutions across the country, including 14 Chairs in British Columbia. This $88,800,000 investment in one of Canada's most prestigious research programs is attracting innovative and talented minds to Canada.

Dr. Martin Ordonez, Canada Research Chair in Power Converters for Renewable Energy Systems at the University of British Columbia, joined Minister Findlay for today's announcement. Dr. Ordonez's research is maximizing the use of renewable energy sources (such as the wind, sun or ocean) by developing new storage solutions to produce low emission power when these sources are not able to produce clean energy to their fullest potential (for example, storing energy from wind turbines and using this power when the wind speed drops). This project will help Canada's energy sector maximize the use of renewable energy sources while creating both technological and environmental benefits.

Dr. Ordonez's research also provides an outstanding training environment for graduate students and post-doctoral fellows while his partnerships with industry will facilitate the adoption of the technologies he develops, leading to social, economic and environmental gains.

Quick facts

  • Since 2006, the Government of Canada has provided more than $11 billion in new resources to support basic and applied research, talent development, research infrastructure, and innovation in the private sector.
  • There are more than 1,700 chairholders working in the fields of natural sciences and engineering, health, and social sciences and humanities at more than 70 post-secondary institutions across the country.
  • The University of British Columbia, a centre of research excellence in Canada, is home to more than 180 Canada Research Chairs and one active Canada Excellence Research Chair.
  • The Canada Research Chairs Program was created in 2000. Ongoing annual program expenditures of $265 million have helped attract and retain some of the world's most accomplished and promising minds.


"Our government is committed to supporting top researchers across all disciplines through programs such as the Canada Research Chairs Program. More than 1,700 chairholders are pushing the frontiers of knowledge in universities and colleges throughout Canada, driving jobs, growth and economic prosperity for Canadians."

- Ed Holder, Minister of State (Science and Technology)

"Through the Canada Research Chairs Program, our government is investing in British Columbia's top post-secondary institutions and their elite researchers. In turn, these promising researchers bring ideas and innovations into practical and commercial applications for the benefit of all Canadians."

- Kerry-Lynne D. Findlay, Minister of National Revenue

"The Canada Research Chairs Program is successfully attracting and retaining many of the world's best researchers across all disciplines. With sustained support from federal investments in research, such as those made through the Canada Research Chairs Program, Canadian post-secondary institutions are able to compete for these renowned experts, who are then able to train the next generation of talented researchers."

- Ted Hewitt, Executive Vice-President, Social Sciences and Humanities Research Council of Canada

"Investing in cutting-edge research infrastructure continues to have a transformative impact on Canadian research. With the right tools, Canada Research Chairs can make the kinds of advancements in their field that will provide solutions to tomorrow's challenges."

- Dr. Gilles Patry, President and CEO, Canada Foundation for Innovation

Related products

Complete list of chairholders

Associated links

Canada Foundation for Innovation

University of British Columbia

Contact Information

  • Scott French
    Director of Communications and Parliamentary Affairs
    Office of the Minister of State (Science and Technology)

    Media Relations
    Industry Canada

    Stephanie Kale
    Media Relations Advisor
    Canada Research Chairs Program