Aboriginal Affairs and Northern Development Canada

Aboriginal Affairs and Northern Development Canada

April 13, 2012 11:00 ET

The Harper Government Welcomes 18 First Nations to the Framework Agreement on First Nations Land Management

OTTAWA, ONTARIO--(Marketwire - April 13, 2012) - The Honourable John Duncan, Minister of Aboriginal Affairs and Northern Development, joined Chief Robert Louie, Chair of the First Nations Lands Advisory Board (LAB), and Chief Austin Bear, Chair of the First Nations Land Management Resource Centre Inc., at a special signing ceremony today marking the addition of 18 First Nations from across Canada to the Framework Agreement on First Nations Land Management.

"Today's announcement demonstrates how our Government is working with First Nations to deliver on the commitments made at the Crown-First Nations Gathering to create the conditions to accelerate economic development opportunities and maximize benefits for all Canadians," said Minister Duncan. "This important step will allow them to operate at the speed of business, creating economic and job opportunities and leading to more self-sufficient communities."

By signing onto the Framework Agreement, these First Nations are beginning a process to opt out of the 34 land-related sections of the Indian Act and assume control over their reserve land, resources and environment.

The Government of Canada committed up to $20 million over two years to respond to the growing interest from First Nation leaders to participate in the First Nations Land Management (FNLM) Regime. On January 23, 2012, the Government announced the names of 18 First Nations selected to join the Regime as part of this commitment. The First Nations include: Alexis Nakota Sioux Nation [AB], Aitchelitz [BC], Beausoleil [ON], Bingwi Neyaashi Anishinaabek [ON], Buffalo Point [MB], Haisla Nation [BC], Long Plain [MB], Mashteuiatsh [QC], Membertou [NS], Miawpukek [NL], One Arrow [SK], Shuswap [BC], Skowkale [BC], St. Mary's [BC], Stz'uminus [BC], Tsuu T'ina [AB], Williams Lake Indian Band [BC] and Yakweakwioose [BC].

"This is another historic day for the Framework Agreement," stated Chief Louie. "Eighteen more First Nations now have the opportunity to assume jurisdiction over their reserve lands. This control is a critical step on the path to self-sufficiency."

"Without the Minister's dedication to advance the Framework Agreement, we would not be here today in celebration," added Chief Bear. "The Directors of the Lands Advisory Board and the Resource Centre Board are pleased with the government's commitment to putting First Nations in more direct control of their economic development."

As new signatories to the Framework Agreement, these First Nations can now begin developing their own land codes. Once approved by their community members, these land codes will enable the First Nations to better pursue economic opportunities outside the limitations of the Indian Act. Today's signing ceremony means that almost 60 First Nations are now operating or developing land codes under the FNLM Regime.

Improving economic opportunities for Aboriginal people is a priority for the Government of Canada. In June 2009, the Government of Canada released the Federal Framework for Aboriginal Economic Development (FFAED) which represents a fundamental change to how the federal government supports Aboriginal economic development. The FFAED emphasizes strengthening entrepreneurship, enhancing the value of Aboriginal assets, and forging new and effective partnerships to maximize the economic development potential of Aboriginal Canadians.

Backgrounder: First Nations Land Management Regime

This release is also available on the Internet at www.aandc.gc.ca.

You can receive all our news and media updates automatically. For more information or to sign up for our Media Room RSS Feed, visit: www.aandc-aadnc.gc.ca/1info/rssinfo-eng.asp.

Contact Information

  • Minister's Office
    Jan O'Driscoll
    Press Secretary
    Office of the Honourable John Duncan

    Media Relations
    Aboriginal Affairs and Northern Development Canada

    Lands Advisory Board/Resource Centre
    Graham Powell
    Executive Director