September 01, 2011 08:00 ET

HELP Inc. Elects New Leadership

DEARBORN, MI and PHOENIX, AZ--(Marketwire - Sep 1, 2011) - Heavy Vehicle Electronic License Plate, Inc. (HELP) elected the following individuals.

  • Chairman - Jim Poe, Indiana Department of Revenue, Indianapolis, IN
  • Vice Chairman - Karen Rasmussen, Arizona Trucking Association, Phoenix, AZ
  • Secretary/Treasurer - Chief Dave Lorenzen, Iowa Motor Vehicle Enforcement, Des Moines, IA
  • Members At Large
    • James Burg, James Burg Trucking, Warren, MI
    • Dave Huneryager, Tennessee Trucking Association, Nashville, TN
    • Gary Okes, Estes Express, Richmond, VA
    • Greg Oliver, Delaware Department of Transportation, Dover, DE
    • Don Schaefer, Mid-West Truckers Association, Inc., Springfield, IL
    • Jan Skouby, Missouri Department of Transportation, Jefferson City, MO
    • Lt. Robert Warner, Ohio State Patrol, Columbus, OH

According to Richard A. Clasby, president and CEO of HELP, "The election of these officers will ensure vigorous volunteer leadership and geographic diversity as the PrePass weigh station system adds more states and HELP launches new service offerings."

HELP Incorporated (HELP) is transportation's premier, not-for-profit, public-private partnership. Its mission is to improve highway safety and efficiency. HELP ensures its initiatives benefit the public and private sectors through a board comprised of an equal number of public officials and commercial vehicle operators. HELP provides each state with control over its service offerings to accommodate each jurisdiction's unique needs, staffing and enforcement priorities. HELP's investment of more than $400 million has sped the deployment of ITS and has improved safety, air quality and highway preservation.

HELP's flagship service is the PrePass weigh station service. More than 415,000 trucks have voluntarily enrolled. PrePass and its electronic toll collection companion service are operational at weigh stations and/or toll plazas in 33 states, including: Alabama, Arizona, Arkansas, California, Colorado, Delaware, Florida, Illinois, Indiana, Iowa, Kansas, Louisiana, Maine, Maryland, Massachusetts, Mississippi, Missouri, Montana, Nebraska, Nevada, New Hampshire, New Jersey, New Mexico, New York, Ohio, Oklahoma, Pennsylvania, Tennessee, Texas, Virginia, West Virginia, Wisconsin and Wyoming. PrePass enables states to meets Federal CVISN requirements.

Contact Information

  • For additional information, contact:
    Strategic Communication
    Email Contact