SOURCE: Hemophilia Foundation of Michigan

April 15, 2008 15:58 ET

Hemophilia Foundation of Michigan Names Legislators of the Year

YPSILANTI, MI--(Marketwire - April 15, 2008) - The Hemophilia Foundation of Michigan (HFM) has named its Michigan 2007 Legislators of the Year. The annual awards, which recognize excellence in legislative policy making affecting the bleeding disorders community, were announced at HFM's annual consumer conference, SpringFest, at the Bavarian Inn in Frankenmuth on April 15, 2008. Recipients of the 2007 awards are Michigan Representative Kathy Angerer and Michigan Senator Randy Richardville.

Presenting the legislative awards, HFM Executive Director, Ivan C. Harner noted, "The people of the State of Michigan are indeed fortunate to have legislators like Representative Kathy Angerer and Senator Randy Richardville serving in Lansing. They have transcended party lines in working together to implement important public policy affecting the unique needs of the bleeding disorders community in Michigan."

Representative Kathy Angerer represents the 55th House District, which covers Monroe and Washtenaw counties from the area just south of Ann Arbor to the shore of Lake Erie. She serves as chair of the Health Policy Committee and also serves on the House Agriculture, Education, Energy and Technology committees.

Senator Randy Richardville represents the 17th Senate District which includes all of Monroe County, southern Washtenaw County and southeast Jackson County. Senator Richardville serves as chair of the Senate Banking & Financial Institutions Committee and is vice-chair of the Economic Development and Regulatory Reform Committee. He also serves on the Energy Policy and Public Utilities and Homeland Security and Emerging Technologies committees. Senator Richardville serves as the President Pro-Tempore of the Senate.

Contact Information

  • Contact:
    Hemophilia Foundation of Michigan
    1921 West Michigan Avenue
    Ypsilanti, MI 48197
    Phone: 734-544-0015
    FAX 734-544-0095

    Ivan C. Harner
    Executive Director
    734-544-0015 ext. 26
    Email Contact