SOURCE: Sire Records

September 26, 2007 18:14 ET

HIM's New Album "Venus Doom" Enters Billboard Chart at Number 12; Finnish Rock Band's Highest Debut to Date With More Than 40,000 Copies Sold

NEW YORK, NY--(Marketwire - September 26, 2007) - "Venus Doom," the new album from Sire recording artists HIM, captured the No.12 spot this week on Billboard's Hot 100 chart -- the Finnish rock band's highest debut to date. Released on September 18th "Venus Doom" was named one of Alternative Press' "Most Anticipated Albums of 2007." Spin gave it four stars in its review, while Blender called it "brutal. Ballsy. Extreme... you might even sneak in a sexy and still be on point."

The band -- singer Ville Valo, guitarist Linde, bassist Mige, keyboardist Burton, and drummer Gas -- have been collaborating on the songs that appear on "Venus Doom" since last year when their previous release, "Dark Light," went gold in the U.S., making HIM the first-ever band from Finland to go gold in America. The band recorded "Venus Doom" this past spring with noted producer Tim Palmer (Ozzy Osborne, U2 and Duran Duran) with the intention of recapturing the signature sound of their highly acclaimed 2003 album "Love Metal."

Also noteworthy is the band's logo, which has been likened to the Rolling Stones' Tongue, The Ramones' Seal, and the Grateful Dead Skull. HIM's symbol -- the marriage of a heart and a pentagram called the Heart-a-Gram -- has been glimpsed on "Jackass" (on star Bam Margera), Kat Von D's "LA Ink," and on countless fans across Europe and the U.S.

HIM's first single "Kiss Of Dawn" has already been added to MTV2's regular rotation on "You Rock The Deuce" and is currently being played on "Steven's Untitled Rock Show" on Fuse. HIM have recently finished up a major tour with Linkin Park on the latter's Projekt Revolution extravaganza, and will begin their own headlining tour in New York City in mid-October. See below for full tour itinerary.

HIM Fall Headlining Tour Dates:

Thurs   18-Oct  Sayerville, NJ          Starland Ballroom
Fri     19-Oct  Washington, DC          9:30 Club
Sat     20-Oct  Baltimore, MD           Sonar
Sun     21-Oct  Worcester, MA           The Palladium
Tues    23-Oct  Royal Oak, MI           Royal Oak Theatre
Thurs   25-Oct  Chicago, IL             Congress Theatre
Fri     26-Oct  St. Louis, MO           The Pageant
Sat     27-Oct  St. Paul, MN            Myth
Tues    30-Oct  Omaha, NE               Sokol Auditorium
Wed     31-Oct  Kansas City, MO         Uptown Theatre
Fri     2-Nov   Denver, CO              Ogden Theatre
Sat     3-Nov   Salt Lake City, UT      In The Venue
Sat     10-Nov  Seattle, WA             The Fenix
Sun     11-Nov  Portland, OR            Crystal Ballroom
Tues    13-Nov  San Francisco, CA       Warfield Theatre
Wed     14-Nov  Los Angeles, CA         Orpheum Theatre
Sat     17-Nov  Las Vegas, NV           The Joint
Tues    20-Nov  Dallas, TX              Palladium Ballroom
Wed     21-Nov  Houston, TX             Warehouse Live
Fri     23-Nov  Ft. Lauderdale, FL      Revolution
Sat     24-Nov  Orlando, FL             Hard Rock Live
Sun     25-Nov  Atlanta, GA             Tabernacle
Wed     28-Nov  N. Myrtle Beach, SC     House of Blues
Thurs   29-Nov  Norfolk, VA             Norva
Fri     30-Nov  Philadelphia, PA        Electric Factory
Sat     1-Dec   New York, NY            Nokia Theatre

Contact Information