SOURCE: IEEE Council on Electronic Design Automation

IEEE Council on Electronic Design Automation

September 09, 2013 12:33 ET

IEEE Council on EDA to Recognize David Atienza, Zhuo Li With 2013 Early Career Awards

Honored For Creative and Substantial Contributions to Electronic Design Automation

AUSTIN, TX--(Marketwired - Sep 9, 2013) -  David Atienza, Assistant Professor of Electrical Engineering and Director of the Embedded Systems Laboratory at EPFL, and Zhuo Li, Research Staff Member at IBM Austin Research Laboratory, have been selected by the IEEE Council on Electronic Design Automation (CEDA) to each receive this year's Early Career Award for contributions in the area of electronic design automation in the early stages of their careers. The achievement awards will be presented during the International Conference on Computer-Aided Design (ICCAD) on November 18, 2013, at the Hilton Hotel in San Jose.

Prof. Atienza is being recognized for outstanding contributions to design methods and tools for multi-processor systems-on-chip (MPSoC), particularly for work on thermal-aware design, low-power architectures and on-chip interconnects synthesis. Dr. Li is being recognized for essential and outstanding contributions to algorithms, methodologies, and software for interconnect optimization, physical synthesis, parasitic extraction, testing, and simulation. "Both Professor Atienza and Dr. Li have made important contributions to EDA and CEDA is pleased to be able to recognize both of them," notes Dr. David Yeh, director of Integrated Circuit and Systems Sciences at Semiconductor Research Corporation and chair of CEDA's Awards Committee.

About the IEEE Council on EDA

The IEEE Council on Electronic Design Automation provides a focal point for EDA activities across six IEEE societies (Antennas and Propagation, Circuits and Systems, Computer, Electron Devices, Microwave Theory and Techniques, and Solid State Circuits). The Council sponsors or co-sponsors over a dozen key EDA conferences and publishes IEEE Transactions on CAD and IEEE Embedded Systems Letters. CEDA recognizes its leaders via the A. Richard Newton Award, Early Career Award and Phil Kaufmann Award.

CEDA's Early Career Award honors individuals who made innovative and substantial technical contributions to EDA in the early stages of his or her careers. Contributions are evaluated according to technical merit and creativity, with consideration of published record and references accompanying the nomination. The award is available to contributors from academic and industrial institutions. For information, visit:

All trademarks and registered trademarks are the property of their respective owners.

Contact Information

  • For more information, contact:

    Kristin Steen
    IEEE Council on EDA
    (512) 297-7126
    Email Contact