May 02, 2012 11:00 ET

IEEE's Council on EDA to Recognize Outstanding Achievement in EDA During DAC

Three Fellows Appointed in 2012 to Be Honored

NEW YORK, NY--(Marketwire - May 2, 2012) - The IEEE Council on Electronic Design Automation (CEDA) will present four achievement awards and three newly appointed Fellows of the IEEE during the opening session of the 49th Design Automation Conference (DAC) Tuesday, June 5, at the Moscone Center in San Francisco.

The awards are the Donald O. Pederson for the best paper of IEEE Transactions on Computer-Aided Design, the A. Richard Newton Technical Impact, the Outstanding Service Contribution and the Phil Kaufman.

"It gives me great pleasure to announce this year's award recipients, all of whom have made lasting contributions to our industry," says David Yeh, director, Integrated Circuit and Systems Sciences at Semiconductor Research Corporation and chair of the CEDA Awards Committee. "We're also delighted to be able to honor three Fellows of the IEEE from within the CEDA Community. Please join us at DAC as we honor them."

The Donald O. Pederson Award recognizes the best paper of IEEE Transactions on Computer-Aided Design titled, "An Analytical Approach for Network-on-Chip Performance Analysis," from the December 2010 issue. This year's recipients are co-authors Umit Ogras, currently at Intel, Paul Bogdan, post-doctoral fellow at Carnegie Mellon University (CMU), and Radu Marculescu, professor of electrical and computer engineering at CMU.

The A. Richard Newton Technical Impact Award in Electronic Design Automation co-sponsored by CEDA and the ACM Special Interest Group on Design Automation (SIGDA) will be presented to Altan Odabasioglu, founder of Gear Design Solutions, EDA Technologist Mustafa Celik, and Larry Pileggi, Tanoto professor at CMU. They co-authored "PRIMA: Passive Reduced-Order Interconnect Macromodeling Algorithm," published in the August 1998 IEEE Transactions on Computer-Aided Design of Integrated Circuits and Systems.

The IEEE CEDA Outstanding Service Contribution Award will be presented to past DAC General Chair Leon Stok, vice president of EDA at IBM.

The session will feature the presentation of the Phil Kaufman Award to Dr. C. L. David Liu, the William Mong honorary chair professor of Computer Science and former president of the National Tsing Hua University in Hsinchu, Taiwan. The yearly award, originally presented at ICCAD in 2011, is sponsored by CEDA and the Electronic Design Automation Consortium.

The three Fellows of the IEEE from CEDA to be honored are Naehyuck Chang from Seoul National University, Luis Silveira from the Technical University of Lisbon and Stephen Trimberger of Xilinx, Inc.

For more information on CEDA, go to
Details on this year's DAC can be found at

About the IEEE Council on EDA

The IEEE Council on Electronic Design Automation (CEDA) provides a focal point for EDA activities spread across six IEEE societies (Antennas and Propagation; Circuits and Systems; Computer; Electron Devices; Microwave Theory and Techniques; and Solid State Circuits). It sponsors more than 12 conferences, including the Design Automation Conference (DAC), International Conference in CAD (ICCAD) and Design Automation and Test in Europe (DATE). CEDA publishes IEEE Transactions on CAD and the IEEE Embedded Systems Letters. CEDA is increasingly involved in recognizing its leaders via the A. Richard Newton Award, Early Career Award and Phil Kaufmann Award. CEDA welcomes volunteers and local chapters. For more information, go to:

All trademarks and registered trademarks are the property of their respective owners.

Contact Information

  • For more information, contact:
    Nanette Collins
    Public Relations for the IEEE Council on EDA
    (617) 437-1822
    Email Contact