SOURCE: Warner Bros. Records

June 12, 2007 09:00 ET

"Instant Karma: The Amnesty International Campaign to Save Darfur," Out Today on Warner Bros. Records

Historic Double CD Features More Than 20 John Lennon Songs Recorded by U2, Green Day, R.E.M., Avril Lavigne, Big & Rich, Christina Aguilera, Snow Patrol, Corinne Bailey Rae, Regina Spektor and More

American Express Offers Cardmembers Exclusive Bonus Tracks

BURBANK, CA--(Marketwire - June 12, 2007) - In an historic effort to mobilize activism around the human rights atrocities occurring in Darfur, Sudan, more than 50 international recording artists and over 30 record labels have united behind "Instant Karma: The Amnesty International Campaign to Save Darfur." The collection features iconic songs by legendary musician and peace activist John Lennon recorded by an array of best-selling artists and will be available for purchase both on CD and as digital downloads via online retailers.

The two-CD set of "Instant Karma," released today by Warner Bros. Records, boasts a stellar line-up of 23 world-class artists from a variety of genres putting their own unique spin on classic songs from Lennon's solo songbook. The artists -- who come from the worlds of rock, pop, hip-hop and country -- include longtime activists U2, Green Day, R.E.M., and Jackson Browne; female pop powerhouses Christina Aguilera, Avril Lavigne, and Corinne Bailey Rae; country stars Big & Rich; alternative favorites Snow Patrol, The Flaming Lips, The Postal Service and Regina Spektor; best-selling rockers Aerosmith, Lenny Kravitz and Los Lonely Boys; and pensive singer-songwriters Jakob Dylan with Dhani Harrison and Ben Harper.

Accompanying the two-CD set, 11 tracks are available today as exclusive digital downloads on iTunes. The digitally released tracks are performed by Duran Duran, Deftones, Gavin Rossdale, Yellowcard, Widespread Panic, O.A.R., Ben Jelen, Me'Shell Ndegèocello, Rocky Duwani, Emmanuel Jal and The Fab Faux.

American Express Cardmembers who purchase the album with their Card via will receive six exclusive tracks either on CD or as digital downloads. The bonus songs include Josh Groban's previously unreleased take on "Imagine," as well as "Happy Xmas (War Is Over)" by Maroon 5, "Woman" by Paddy Casey, "Beautiful Boy" by Freshly Ground, "Imagine" by Afro Reggae and "John Sinclair" by Trevor Menear.

The rights to Lennon's songs were generously donated by Yoko Ono, who has donated all music publishing royalties. Amnesty International chose to harness the power of Lennon's music to inspire a new generation of activists to stand up for human rights. Proceeds from CD and digital sales will support Amnesty International and its campaign to focus attention and mobilize activism around the urgent catastrophe in Darfur, and other human rights crises.

"It's wonderful that, through this campaign, music that is so familiar to many people of my era will now be embraced by a whole new generation," Ono says. "John's music set out to inspire change, and in standing up for human rights, we really can make the world a better place."

Larry Cox, executive director of Amnesty International U.S.A., adds, "We know music's power to unite and inspire people. With hundreds of thousands dead, millions driven from their burned out villages and rape being used as a tactic in the Darfur conflict, the world needs a mass mobilization demanding action and justice. The 'Instant Karma' campaign combines John Lennon's passionate desire for us to imagine a more peaceful world with Amnesty International's expertise in effecting justice. 'Instant Karma' allows ordinary people to lend their hand in saving lives -- a notion we think would make John proud."

"John Lennon was not just a famous Beatle, he was the social conscience of his generation," says Jeff Ayeroff, one of the album's executive producers. "By reinterpreting his music and reintroducing it to a new generation, we shine a light on the darkness that is Darfur. Yoko Ono's gift of John's music to Amnesty International, whose work points out the pain and injustice in the world, is a true beacon of light. Give peace a chance is all we are saying."

Green Day's efforts for Amnesty International also include a philanthropic partnership with Hard Rock International through which the band will unveil the latest limited edition Signature Series T-shirt. Proudly designed by the band members, the Green Day Signature Series T-shirt will benefit Amnesty International and will be sold exclusively at Hard Rock locations around the world.

For more information about "Instant Karma: The Amnesty International Campaign to Save Darfur" or Amnesty International, please visit ( in the United States or outside the United States.

The full track-listing* for "Instant Karma: The Amnesty International Campaign to Save Darfur" is as follows:

Disc One:

U2 -- "Instant Karma"
R.E.M. -- "#9 Dream"
Christina Aguilera -- "Mother"
Aerosmith featuring Sierra Leone's Refugee All Stars -- "Give Peace A
Lenny Kravitz -- "Cold Turkey"
Los Lonely Boys -- "Whatever Gets You Thru the Night"
Corinne Bailey Rae -- "I'm Losing You"
Jakob Dylan featuring Dhani Harrison -- "Gimme Some Truth"
Jackson Browne -- "Oh My Love"
Avril Lavigne -- "Imagine"
Big & Rich -- "Nobody Told Me"
Youssou N'Dour -- "Jealous Guy"

Disc Two:

Green Day -- "Working Class Hero"
Black Eyed Peas -- "Power to the People"
Jack Johnson -- "Imagine"
Ben Harper -- "Beautiful Boy"
Snow Patrol -- "Isolation"
Matisyahu -- "Watching the Wheels"
The Postal Service -- "Grow Old With Me"
Jaguares -- "Gimme Some Truth"
The Flaming Lips -- "(Just Like) Starting Over"
Jack's Mannequin featuring Mick Fleetwood -- "God"
Regina Spektor -- "Real Love"

Exclusive Digital Tracks:

Duran Duran -- "Instant Karma"
Deftones -- "Jealous Guy"
Gavin Rossdale -- "Mind Games"
Yellowcard -- "Oh, My Love"
Widespread Panic -- "Crippled Inside"
O.A.R. -- "Borrowed Time"
Ben Jelen -- "Woman"
Me'Shell Ndegèocello -- "Imagine"
Rocky Dawuni -- "Well, Well, Well"
Emmanuel Jal -- "Mother"
The Fab Faux -- "I Don't Wanna To Face It"

*U.S. and Canada only

Contact Information