SOURCE: International Ultraviolet Association

October 21, 2013 10:13 ET

International Ultraviolet Association (IUVA) Members Present Awards to UV Innovators at World Congress 2013

WASHINGTON, DC--(Marketwired - Oct 21, 2013) - Members of the IUVA proudly presented awards to UV scientists, engineers, industry leaders and students at the World Congress 2013 in Las Vegas. 

The UV Engineering Project Award winner for 2011-2012 is the Catskill-Delaware Ultraviolet Disinfection Facility. The new state-of-the-art facility is owned by the New York City Department of Environmental Protection and was designed by CDM Smith and Hazen and Sawyer, with construction management by Malcolm Pirnie/ ARCADIS and CH2M Hill. The Catskill-Delaware Ultraviolet Disinfection Facility was recognized as an exemplary field application of UV Technology. Trojan Technologies custom designed and supplied an innovative UV reactor platform - the TrojanUVTorrent™ to meet the challenging and unique design parameters of the NYC project.

The Green Innovations in UV Science and Engineering Award winner is a solar powered UV Water Purifier designed by Naiade, for Nedap Light Controls. The IUVA Green Innovations award recognizes an exemplary product or process improving the Green image of UV applications and is reviewed for its Green design and engineering attributes. 

The UV technologies industry has grown over the past decade across the globe and is poised for even more expansion with the introduction of UV LED technology. UV LEDs are small, energy efficient devices that have revolutionized the UV industry. The UV Product Innovation award recognizes novel UV product design and engineering. It was given to UV-Pearl for a UVC LED Water Disinfection Device by Aquionics, Inc.

The UV Research Paper of the Year (2011-2012) was awarded to Olya Keen, Nancy G. Love and Karl G. Linden for, "The role of effluent nitrate in trace organic chemical oxidation during UV disinfection" published in Water Research in 2012. Two Classic UV Paper Awards were presented; one went to Jeannie L. Darby, Kile Snider and George Tchobanoglous for "Ultraviolet Disinfection of Wastewater Reclamation and Reuse Subject to Restrictive Standards" published in Water Environment Research, 1993. The other went to James R. Bolton and Karl G. Linden for "Standardization of Methods for Fluence (UV Dose) Determination in Bench-scale UV Experiments" published in ASCE: Journal of Environmental Engineering, 2003

The UV Light Award for Volunteer Recognition was given to George Elliott Whitby to recognize his dedicated support of IUVA and its mission. The Lifetime Achievement Award in UV Science and Engineering was given to Dr. James R. Bolton, Professor Emeritus of University of Western Ontario and President of Bolton Photosciences Inc.

Students studying UV technology were also recognized for their contributions to research. Best Conference Papers were awarded to: Jacque-Ann Grant, University of Toronto; Olya Keen, University of Colorado; and Mengkai Li, Chinese Academy of Sciences. 

IUVA's mission is to advance the science, engineering and applications of ultraviolet technologies to enhance the quality of human life and to protect the environment. Founded in 1999, it is a 501(c)3 educational association of more than 500 members in 35 countries. Visit

Contact Information

  • Contact:
    Deborah Martinez
    Executive Director, IUVA
    Email Contact
    202-422-2445 (o)
    202-557-6144 (c)