SOURCE: Galaxy Press

August 10, 2005 09:00 ET

International Writers and Illustrators Contest Awards to Be Held in Seattle's Sci Fi Museum

Contests Award $30,000 to Winning Authors and Artists; Anthology to Be Released at August Ceremonies

SEATTLE, WA -- (MARKET WIRE) -- August 10, 2005 -- On August 19th, Seattle's Science Fiction Museum will host the 21st annual international L. Ron Hubbard Writers and Illustrators of the Future Awards -- one of the oldest and most prestigious competitions for new and aspiring writers and illustrators of science fiction, fantasy and horror.

Over the past 21 years, 16 Washington-based writers and 2 Washington-based illustrators have won the competition. One of the latest additions to the Contests' all-star panel of judges is Seattle resident, Brian Herbert ( co-author of the popular "Dune" prequels -- based on the bestselling novels penned by his father, Frank Herbert, who also judged the competition during his lifetime.)

From as far away as Australia's New South Wales and Ukraine's Kiev, this year's winners and finalists (listed below) are provided with an all-expense-paid trip to attend the ceremonies and a week-long workshop led by many of the world's foremost professionals in their respective fields, to be held this year at the new Seattle Public Library from August 15th to 19th. Winners additionally receive $30,000 in cash prizes and royalties. At the awards event, the Grand Prize winners for the Writers and Illustrators Contests will be announced for the first time.

Capping the ceremony will be the release of the award-winning anthology, "L. Ron Hubbard Presents Writers of the Future, Volume XXI," published by Galaxy Press. The anthology, featuring all the winning stories and including commissioned artwork by the winning illustrators, has been hailed as the premier international publishing showcase for emerging literary and artistic talent in the field of speculative fiction.

Selections from thousands of entries annually were made from two all-star panels in each discipline. Judging writer panelists included: Kevin J. Anderson, Doug Beason, Gregory Benford, Algis Budrys, Orson Scott Card, Brian Herbert, Nina Kiriki Hoffman, Eric Kotani, Anne McCaffrey, Larry Niven, Andre Norton, Frederik Pohl, Jerry Pournelle, Tim Powers, Robert Sawyer, Robert Silverberg, K.D. Wentworth and Jack Williamson. Judging panelists for illustrators included: Edd Cartier, Vincent Di Fate, Leo and Diane Dillon, Bob Eggleton, Frank Frazetta, Laura Brodian Freas, Stephen Hickman, Judith Holman, Ron and Val Lindham, Sergey Poyarkov, H.R. Van Dongen and Stephen Youll.

The Contest began in 1983 when L. Ron Hubbard celebrated his record-breaking return to the field of science fiction with the runaway bestseller "Battlefield Earth." It was with his own experiences as a new writer in mind -- and from the perspective of more than five decades as a premier professional -- that he created the Contest. In stating his reasons in the introduction to the first Writers of the Future anthology, he wrote: "In these modern times, there are many communication lines for works of art. Because a few works of art can be shown so easily to so many, there may even be fewer artists. The competition is very keen and even dagger sharp. It is with this in mind that I initiated a means for new and budding writers to have a chance for their creative efforts to be seen and acknowledged."

In his own 56-year writing career, Mr. Hubbard produced more than 250 works of fiction, 19 New York Times bestsellers. Among his most celebrated works are international bestsellers "Battlefield Earth" and the ten-volume "Mission Earth" series.

More than 300 novels and over 3,000 short stories have been published by former winners of the Writers of the Future Contest. For more information, visit

Washington State Winners of the Writers of the Future Contest:

Winner Name                   Residence Location

Alan R. Barclay               Seattle, WA
Stoney Compton                Seattle, WA
Steve Duff                    Seattle, WA
Rod Garcia                    Mt. Vernon, WA
James C. Glass                Spokane, WA
Tim Jansen                    Bellingham, WA
Kyle David Jelle              Tacoma, WA
Karawynn Long                 Seattle, WA
Syne Mitchell                 North Bend, WA
Nicole Montgomery             Spokane, WA
Michael L. Scanlon            Seattle, WA
J.C. Schmidt                  Bellingham, WA
Melissa Lee Shaw              Redmond, WA
Cynthia Ellis Staehlin        Bellevue, WA
Terri Trimble                 Mukilteo, WA
Bridget McKenna               Seattle, WA
Winners of the 2005 Writers of the Future Contest:
Winner Name By Quarter   Ranking        Residence
Sidra Vitale             1st Place      Brighton, MA
Eric James  Stone        2nd Place      Eagle Mountain,  UT
Cat Sparks               3rd Place      Balmain, New South Wales
John  Schoffstall        1st Place      Pullman, WA
David Goldman            2nd Place      Portland, OR
Mathew Reiten            3rd Place      Stillwater, OK
Stephen Stanley          1st Place      Eugene,  OR
Scott Roberts            2nd Place      Fredericksburg, VA
Michael Livingston       3rd Place      Rochester, NY
Floris Kleinje           1st Place      Amsterdam, Netherlands
Sean Tinsley             2nd Place      Iqaluit, Nunavut, Canada
Ken Scholes              3rd Place      Gresham, OR
Andrew Gudgel                           Baltimore, MD
Michael Rimar                           Whitby, Ontario, Canada
Lon Prater                              Panama City Beach, FL
Winners of the 2005 Illustrators of the Future Contest:
Winner Name By Quarter        Residence
Steven Popovich               Chicago, IL
Michael Brenner               Lawrence, KS
Youri Bobrikov                Potava Distriki, Ukraine
Alex Quintero                 Ontario, CA
Mike Wohlwend                 Stow, OH
Perrin Hendrick               Exeter, NH
Alex Paramonov                Kiev, Ukraine
Olga Madyar                   Kiev, Ukraine
Ali Hilton                    Crossville, TN,
Cornelius Cockroft            Brooklyn, NY
Erik Valdez y Alanis          Mexico City, Mexico

Contact Information