Governor General of Canada

Governor General of Canada

July 11, 2007 09:54 ET

Jane Vance Rule Invested as Officer of the Order of Canada

OTTAWA, ONTARIO--(Marketwire - July 11, 2007) - The Honourable Iona Campagnolo, Lieutenant Governor of British Columbia, will present the insignia of Officer of the Order of Canada to Ms. Jane Vance Rule on behalf of Her Excellency the Right Honourable Michaelle Jean, Governor General of Canada, during a ceremony being held on July 11, 2007, at noon, at the Galiano Community Centre on Galiano Island, British Columbia. Ms. Rule was appointed on October 5, 2006.

The following text is the official citation for Ms. Rule:

Jane Vance Rule, C.M., O.B.C.

Galiano Island, British Columbia

Member of the Order of Canada

Ms. Jane Vance Rule has been a powerful force for equality. She broke new ground in Canadian literature as one of the first writers to populate her novels with homosexual as well as heterosexual characters. Her 1964 novel Desert of the Heart, which tells the love story of two women, is considered a masterpiece and was later adapted for film. Her books, described as forthright, complex and imaginative, have been translated into many languages and have earned her literary as well as human rights awards. Generous and caring, she is much loved by other writers and by members of her community.

An Order of Canada backgrounder follows. For more information on the Order of Canada, please visit our Web site at


The Order of Canada was established in 1967 to recognize outstanding achievement and service in various fields of human endeavour. It is our country's highest civilian honour for lifetime achievement. Three different levels of membership-Companion, Officer and Member-honour people whose accomplishments vary in degree and scope.

Appointments are made on the recommendation of an advisory council, chaired by the chief justice of Canada.

The governor general is the Chancellor and Principal Companion of the Order. Members of the Advisory Council reflect the diversity of and excellence in Canadian society. Certain members are appointed by virtue of their office; others are appointed for a fixed term to achieve a balanced representation of the various regions of the country.

The current members of the Advisory Council are:

The Right Honourable Beverley McLachlin, P.C., Chief Justice of Canada (Chair)

Dr. Patricia A. Demers, President, Royal Society of Canada: The Academies of Arts, Humanities and Sciences of Canada

Mr. Tom Jackson, O.C.

Ms. Karen Kain, C.C., Chair, Canada Council for the Arts

Ms. Judith A. LaRocque, C.V.O., Deputy Minister, Canadian Heritage

Dr. Daurene E. Lewis, C.M.

Mr. Kevin Lynch, Clerk of the Privy Council and Secretary to the Cabinet

Mr. L. Jacques Menard, O.C.

Ms. Bonnie M. Patterson, Chair, Association of Universities and Colleges of Canada

Dr. Patricia Baird, O.C., O.B.C.

Mr. J.E. (Ted) Newall, O.C.

Any group or individual is welcome to nominate deserving individuals as candidates for appointment.

Any Canadian may be nominated for the Order of Canada. The only exceptions are federal and provincial politicians and judges, who may not be appointed while holding office.

Non-Canadians may be considered for honorary appointments.

Contact Information

  • Rideau Hall Press Office
    Marie-Paule Thorn