CPRS Toronto

CPRS Toronto

January 24, 2011 17:55 ET

Jim Leech of the Ontario Teachers' Pension Plan Receives CPRS Toronto 2010-11 CEO Award of Excellence in Public Relations

TORONTO, ONTARIO--(Marketwire - Jan. 24, 2011) -

Editors Note: There is a photo associated with this press release.

This year's CEO Award of Excellence in Public Relations was presented to Jim Leech, president and chief executive officer of the Ontario Teachers' Pension Plan. The Award was presented by the Canadian Public Relations Society of Toronto at the Fairmont Royal York Hotel during a luncheon event in front of a large audience.

The annual CEO Award of Excellence in Public Relations, first created in 1991, recognizes communications excellence and demonstrates that a successful chief executive officer (CEO) must be an excellent communicator who clearly and consistently articulates their company's shared mission, vision and values with a broad range of stakeholders to achieve success in business terms.

"Teachers' has proven to have an excellent track record not only in investment performance but also in stakeholder relations with its varied audiences, in large part due to their commitment to, and advocacy of, communications led by Jim Leech," says CEO Award Chair Lawrence Stevenson, APR. "As the leader of one of Canada's largest institutional investors, Jim Leech has clearly exhibited excellence in strategic communications, from creating and executing the company's vision, to effective and ethical communications with a broad base of stakeholders."

"It is truly humbling to receive this award. I thank the Public Relations community for this honour," says Jim Leech, President and CEO, Ontario Teachers' Pension Plan. "One of our corporate values at Teachers' is a commitment to open and honest communications. It is an intrinsic part of the culture. In my view, leadership is communications."

To read Mr. Leech's speech, please click here.

The selection committee for the CPRS (Toronto) Award is made up of past local and national CPRS presidents, all of whom are accredited Public Relations professionals.

Past recipients of the CPRS (Toronto) CEO award of excellence include:

  • Robert Deluce, President and CEO, Porter Airlines (2009-2010)
  • Galen G. Weston, Executive Chairman, Loblaw Companies Limited (2008-2009)
  • Frances Lankin, President and CEO, United Way of Greater Toronto (2007-2008)
  • The late Richard Bradshaw, General Director, Canadian Opera Company (2006-2007)
  • Michael Budman and Don Green, Co-founders, Roots Canada (2005-2006)
  • Wayne Sales, President and CEO, Canadian Tire (2004-2005)
  • Piers Handling, CEO, Toronto International Film Festival (2003-2004)
  • Julian Fantino, Police Chief, Toronto Police Service (2002-2003)
  • Charles Baillie, Chair, TD Bank Financial Group (2001-2002)
  • Dominic D'Alessandro, President and CEO, Manulife Financial (2000-2001)
  • Bobbie Gaunt, President and CEO, Ford Motor Company of Canada (1999-2000)
  • Diane McGarry, President and CEO, Xerox Canada Inc. (1998-1999)
  • Allan Stark, President and CEO, American Express Company Canada (1997-1998)
  • George Cohon, President and CEO, McDonald's Restaurants of Canada (1996-1997)
  • John Cassaday, President and CEO, CTV (1995-1996)
  • David Bloom, President and CEO, Shoppers Drug Mart (1992-1993)
  • Peter H. Ellis, President and CEO, Sunnybrook Medical Centre (1991-1992)

The Canadian Public Relations Society is a national professional organization focused on establishing and upholding educational and ethical standards in Public Relations. CPRS Toronto is one of the largest local societies with more than 600 members. For more information, please visit: www.cprstoronto.com.

Marketwire is a proud Platinum Sponsor of the 2010-11 CEO Award of Excellence in Public Relations.

To view the photo associated with this release, please visit the following link: http://www.marketwire.com/library/20110124-cprs_800.jpg.

Contact Information

  • For more information or to schedule an interview,
    please contact:
    Ani Chakmakian
    Media Relations Lead, CEO Award Committee
    Lawrence Stevenson, APR
    Chair, CEO Award Committee