SOURCE: Medill - Northwestern University

Medill – Northwestern University

November 25, 2013 14:57 ET

John Bartlow Martin Award Now Accepting Entries

Annual Medill Award Honors Outstanding Public Interest Magazine Journalism

EVANSTON, ILL--(Marketwired - November 25, 2013) - The Medill School of Journalism, Media, Integrated Marketing Communications is now accepting entries for the John Bartlow Martin Award for Public Service Magazine Journalism. 

This annual award honors outstanding public interest magazine journalism, which Martin was so adept at himself. During his 10 years on the Medill faculty, Martin coached students to excel in investigative writing. The award "recognizes the writer(s) of a story or series that sheds light on the causes, consequences or remedies of a problem in American society." Established in 1988, the award is designed to encourage the kind of incisive, in-depth writing about societal ills that Martin pioneered in major magazines such as Harper's, The Saturday Evening Post, Life, Look, Collier's and The Atlantic. Bartlow also wrote 15 books. 

In addition to his journalism work, Martin was a political speechwriter who wrote for the presidential campaigns of Robert F. Kennedy, Hubert H. Humphrey, George McGovern and Adlai Stevenson, about whom he wrote a two-volume biography. He also worked on the presidential campaign of John F. Kennedy, who appointed him as U.S. ambassador to the Dominican Republic in 1962. Martin held the post until 1964. 

At Medill, Martin is remembered as both a preeminent journalist and a skillful teacher. "His legacy in magazine journalism is an important one. This award provides a chance to remember him while honoring outstanding contemporary magazine journalism," said Medill Dean Brad Hamm. Winning entries analyze and critique the policies, relationships and events behind societal problems and solutions. Originality, excellence of writing and the consequences of the article(s) also inform the decision of the judging panel. Entries much have been published in a magazine during calendar year 2013. 

Past winners have included Peter Landesman of LA Weekly, Mimi Swartz of Texas Monthly and Dan Baum of The New Yorker. Winning author(s) receive a $2,000 cash prize. Second- and third-place finishers receive a Certificate of Award. Rules of Entry Submissions must have been published during the calendar year 2013. Medill welcomes articles published in print or digital consumer magazines. Newsletters are excluded, but circulation size is not a criterion of the award.Entries may be submitted by either authors or publications.

The award will go to the author(s). If submitting hard copies, two copies of each entry must be submitted. Do not cut out stories or jumps; send full pages. Do not mount stories. Each copy must be accompanied by our entry form. Legible photocopies or scans are acceptable. You may attach documentation of specific results. Please type or print.

Send entries to: John Bartlow Martin Award c/o Robyn Schuster Medill School of Journalism, Media, Integrated Marketing Communications, Northwestern University, 1845 Sheridan Rd., Evanston, IL 60208 Or they may be e-mailed to Robyn Schuster at

All entries become the property of the Medill School of Journalism, Media, Integrated Marketing Communications and will not be returned. The administrator of this award reserves the right to authenticate, accept or disallow entries. For more information, please visit

Medill, a leader in education since 1921, offers programs in journalism and integrated marketing communications that combine enduring skills and values with new techniques and knowledge that are essential to thrive in today's digital world. Medill has a long-standing reputation for academic excellence. As the media industry experiences unprecedented change, Medill leads the way. We are training a new generation of multimedia journalists and integrated marketing communications professionals who are not only thriving in this evolving media landscape but also helping to shape it.

Contact Information