SOURCE: Pokagon Band of Potawatomi Indians

Pokagon Band of Potawatomi Indians

July 16, 2015 11:52 ET

John P. Warren Re-Elected as Tribal Council Chair

Mark Parrish Chosen as Secretary; Matthew Wesaw and Becky Price Elected to Member-at-Large Seats; And Judy Winchester Selected as the Elders Representative

DOWAGIAC, MI--(Marketwired - Jul 16, 2015) -  The Pokagon Band of Potawatomi Indians announced today that John P. Warren was re-elected as its Tribal Council Chairman during the Tribe's general election on Saturday, July 11. During the election, Mark Parrish was chosen as the Secretary, Matthew Wesaw and Becky Price were elected as Members-at-Large, and Judy Winchester was selected as the Elders Representative. 

Other current members of the Tribal Council who were not up for re-election include Vice-Chairman Bob Moody, Treasurer Eugene Magnuson, and Members-at-Large Steve Winchester, Michaelina Martin, Andy Jackson, and Roger Rader.

This will be Warren's first full term as Chairman after previously winning a special election on January 25, 2014. Chairman Warren will also continue to serve as Chairman and CEO of the Pokagon Gaming Authority Board, which oversees the Band's casino properties including Four Winds New Buffalo®, Four Winds Hartford® and Four Winds Dowagiac®.

About The Pokagon Band of Potawatomi Indians
The Pokagon Band of Potawatomi Indians' sovereignty was reaffirmed under legislation signed into law by President Clinton in September of 1994. The Pokagon Band is dedicated to providing community development initiatives such as housing, education, family services, medical care and cultural preservation for its approximately 5,000 Citizens. The Pokagon Band's ten county service area includes four counties in Southwestern Michigan and six in Northern Indiana. Its main administrative offices are located in Dowagiac, Mich., with a satellite office in South Bend, Ind. In 2007, it opened Four Winds Casino Resort in New Buffalo, Mich., followed by Four Winds Hartford® in 2011 and Four Winds Dowagiac® in 2013. More information is available at

Contact Information