SOURCE: The Hickok Belt Award

June 07, 2012 10:15 ET

Josh Hamilton Selected as the Hickok Belt™ Award Winner for May 2012

ROCHESTER, NY--(Marketwire - Jun 7, 2012) - Texas Rangers outfielder Josh Hamilton has been selected as the Hickok Belt Award winner for the month of May 2012. Voting was conducted by a select panel of members of the National Sportscasters and Sportswriters Association (NSSA). Hamilton was selected based on his torrid hitting throughout the month that included a performance on May 8 in which he went 5-for-5 with a double, four home runs, and eight RBI. For the month of May, Hamilton posted a .344 batting average with 12 home runs and 32 RBI.

Other finalists for the month of May in order of how the NSSA voters ranked them included: Mario Gutierrez (horse racing), Tim Duncan (basketball), Jonathan Quick (hockey), Jered Weaver (baseball), Lionel Messi (soccer), LeBron James (basketball), Jason Dufner (golf), Jimmie Johnson (auto racing) and Floyd Mayweather (boxing).

Josh Hamilton's selection as the Hickok Belt Award winner for May not only recognizes him as "the best of the best" in professional sports for the month, it also marks another milestone in the return of the award given to the top professional athlete across all sports. As a monthly recipient Hamilton becomes the fifth of twelve finalists for the overall annual award, joining previous monthly award winners including Eli Manning, Jeremy Lin, Lindsey Vonn and Bubba Watson. Winners as selected by the NSSA will be announced each month throughout 2012. The overall winner will then be announced in early 2013, as the Hickok Belt Award, the crown jewel of sports, will be presented for the first time in over 36 years.

The Hickok Belt Award was originally presented annually from 1950 - 1976. Past recipients include a list of the 20th century's elite athletes including the likes of Muhammad Ali, Arnold Palmer, Mickey Mantle, Willie Mays, Jim Brown and others that defined their sports. To learn more about the rich history of the Hickok Belt Award and keep up with all the news surrounding the award in 2012, please visit

Contact Information

  • News Media:
    For more information, contact
    Larry Kleehammer
    Email Contact