SOURCE: Illinois Technology Association (ITA)

Illinois Technology Association (ITA)

Illinois Technology Association (ITA)

March 19, 2010 10:30 ET

Judges Announced for Illinois Technology Competition "50 For The Future"

Top Regional Companies and Institutions Partner to Find Industry's Best and Brightest Students

CHICAGO, IL--(Marketwire - March 19, 2010) -  The Illinois Technology Foundation (ITF), the philanthropic arm of the Illinois Technology Association (ITA), a not-for-profit organization dedicated to fueling the technology workforce or employment pipeline, announced today the list of esteemed judges who will be selecting the top 50 Illinois technology students this year.

The judges represent a cross-section of corporate, non-profit and academic leaders. They include CEOs and CIOs, public sector executives and heads of organizations supporting and cultivating technology talent in Illinois.

"We have assembled a strong panel of judges to ensure that nominees are reviewed by a range of employers and organizations in Illinois," said Ray Oral, Senior Vice President and Chief Information Officer at CNA and 50 For The Future co-chair. "Our universities educate some of this country's finest technology talent; and we want to expose that talent among our employers. Doing so will enable Illinois to be recognized for its technology talent pool which can be leveraged to drive economic growth."

The judges will select the top 50 award recipients and attend the winners' celebration on April 13 hosted by CNA. The event will give student winners an opportunity to meet and network with the judges before they receive their awards in the presence of their families and professors.

"50 For The Future is a unique, collaborative community effort," said Karen Gordon, President at Karen Gordon & Associates and 50 For The Future co-chair. "Asking technology leaders who serve as judges to identify talent in our post-secondary institutions connects nominees with future mentors and employers. Students are recognized by leading companies and linked to resources to help them reach their career goals."

2010 judges include:    
Industry Judges    
Frank B. Modruson, CIO   Accenture
John Golden, EVP   Athlete's Performance
Catherine Brune, CIO   Allstate Insurance Company
Karenann Terrell, CVP, CIO   Baxter
John Hinshaw, CIO   The Boeing Company
Steven Elliott, SVP of Global Technology & Ops   Bank of America
Raymond R. Oral, EVP, CIO   CNA
Chris Gladwin, CEO   Cleversafe
Glenn Schneider, CIO   Discover
Daniel Hill, SVP, CIO   Exelon
Dieter Marlovics, CIO   Gelber Group
Ken Pelletier   Groupon
Catherine Kozik, CVP, IT   Motorola
Daniel Fallon, VP & CTO   Navistar
Aaron Crane, VP Technology   NAVTEQ
Lac Tran, SVP & CIO   Rush University Medical Center
Leslie Weber, SVP, CIO   TrueValue
Christian Anschuetz, SVP, CIO   Underwriters Laboratories
Keith Halbert, SVP/CIO   United Airlines
Tawfik Sharkasi, Chief Science & Tech Officer   Wm Wrigley Jr. Company
Education Judges    
Howard Tullman, CEO   Flashpoint Academy
Sandee Kastrul, CEO   i.c.stars
Susan Malish, CIO   Loyola University
Pat Todus, Deputy CIO   Northwestern University
Public Sector Judges    
Hardik Bhatt, CIO   City of Chicago
Ellen Barry, CIO   MPEA
Greg Wass, CIO - Office of Governor Pat Quinn   State of Illinois
Association and Foundation Judges    
Paul Dittman, Chicago President   AITP
John Rico, Chair Tech2020   Chicagoland Chamber of Commerce
Thomas Kuczmarski, Founder   Chicago Innovation Awards
Jen Brady, President, Fred & Associates   Chicago Interactive Media Assoc.
Fred Hoch, President   Illinois Technology Association
Terry Howerton, Chairman   Illinois Technology Association
Orlando Saez, President   Latino Technology Alliance
Sharon Burns, CIO   MacArthur Foundation
Michael Kraus, Co-Chair   Mayor's Council of Tech Advisors
Mark Griesbaum, President   SIM-Chicago
Pat Moroney, President   Technology Leaders Association
Marion Cook, Chicago Director   Women in Technology Int'l

About the Illinois Technology Foundation

The Illinois Technology Foundation's mission is to support the development of a technology talent pipeline that begins in elementary school, is refined in high school, and is fully developed in our region's higher education graduates. The Foundation facilitates relationships and efforts across industry, academia, students, and government, developing and managing targeted programs within the talent pipeline. Through action, leadership, and collaboration, the Foundation supports and nurtures the technology talent to ensure a viable and a regional wealth creating economy. The Foundation is the philanthropy arm of the Illinois Technology Association (ITA), a membership organization of more than 500 Illinois technology companies who support the development of a stronger technology talent pipeline in the region. Additional information is available at

About the Illinois Technology Association

The Illinois Technology Association (ITA) is passionately committed to the successful growth of our member-companies and the regional technology industry. ITA champions the interests of start-ups and industry leaders, innovation agents and students as independent and collaborative thought leaders who leverage the power of technology to transform business. Through fostering strategic development, peer-to-peer leadership, networking, and access to experts across the breadth of business, membership in ITA accelerates the realization of success. For more information about ITA, please visit

Contact Information