April 10, 2012 08:58 ET

Kevin Vandersmissen Wins Irish Open 2012

Young Belgian Poker Pro Wins EUR420,000 At Europe's Oldest Poker Tournament

DUBLIN, IRELAND--(Marketwire - April 10, 2012) -

Editors Note: There is a photo associated with this release.

Kevin Vandersmissen from Belgium has won the 2012 Irish Open. He topped the field of 502 players at the €3,200 + €300 buy in event at the Burlington Hotel, Dublin on Monday to take down the €420,000 top prize.

The highly experienced Vandersmissen, who beat the much less experienced German Thomas Beer, said of his victory, "I feel pretty happy. It's my first big tournament that I've won. I tried to do my best. I felt pretty comfortable. I had to double up in the beginning and had to play very tight but as you saw I'm not afraid to bluff!"

Ian Simpson from Newcastle was the Sole Survivor scooping €100,000 in tournament buy ins and cash for outlasting 135 plus online qualifiers. Simpson took down another €107,500 for finishing fourth in the tournament.

The final table payouts were:

First: Kevin Vandersmissen - €420,000
Second: Thomas Beer - €225,000
Third: David "Dixie" Dean - €158,000
Fourth: Ian Simpson - €107,500
Fifth: Steve Watts - €78,000
Sixth: Jordan Lewis - €59,000
Seventh: Samuel Chartier -- €44,500
Eighth: Andy Black - €32,700
Ninth: Philip Magennis - €23,000

The chips counts going into the final day's play were:

Seat 1: Ian Simpson (2,007,000)
Seat 2: David "Dixie" Dean (1,986,000)
Seat 3: Thomas Beer (1,319,000)
Seat 4: Kevin Vandersmissen (492,000)
Seat 5: Andrew Black (808,000)
Seat 6: Philip Magennis (632,000)
Seat 7: Samuel Chartier (582,000)
Seat 8: Steve Watts (1,519,000)
Seat 9: Jordan Lewis (685,000)

The final table started in explosive fashion. By hand five Irish hopefuls Andy Black and Philip Magennis were knocked out when their A-K and Q-Q ran into Thomas Beer's A-A. It then took three hours before Samuel Chartier got his short stack in with A-J but ran into Ian Simpson's A-K and busted in seventh.

Forty minutes later David 'Dixie' Deans dogged Jordan Lewis when he hit his jack on the flop thrusting his K-J well ahead of Lewis' A-K where it stayed sending the young American Lewis home in fifth with €59,000.

After dinner Ian Simpson sent Steve Watts to the rail to collect €78,000 when Watts called Simpson's 7-7 shove all in with A-J and failed to connect.

Hand 131 saw Simpson eliminated by 8-8 when holding 10-10 all in pre-flop and an 8 fell on the flop to dash the Sole Survivor's hopes of taking down the Irish Open outright.

Hand 157 saw a short stacked Deans bust in third place when he ran K-5 into Kevin Vandersmissen A-A with no improvement and the young Belgian was heads up with longtime German chip leader Thomas Beer.

Vandersmissen, who started the day as the short stack, had 5.5 million in chips, Thomas Beer had 4.5 million. Vendersmissen turned the screw within 20 hands it was all over. The final had saw Beer picks up Ac-Kh on the button, and has his 160,000-chip min-raise called by Vandersmissen and his 9d-7c in the big blind. The flop came 9s-4h-3c.

Beer's A-K fell behind, with Vandersmissen picking up top pair with his nines. Vandersmissen checked, Beer bet 200,000 with his ace-high. Vandersmissen check-raised to 480,000, and Beer counted out an 800,000-chip re-raise. Vandersmissen shoved his 7 million plus chips in, and Beer made the call but could not catch an ace or king and Vandersmissen was crowned Irish Open 2012 champion.

The total prize pool created was €1,602,000 and 54 players got paid with the bubble, Craig Burke, receiving a buy in to next year's Irish Open from sponsor

This year the Irish Open attracted its strongest ever field including former world champions Phil Hellmuth, Dan Harrington, Carlos Mortensen, Noel Furlong and Jonathan Duhamel, multiple WSOP bracelet winners Freddy Deeb and Daniel Negreanu, online hotshots Adam Levy and Jason Wheeler, young Irish and UK stars Dermot Blaine, Sean Prendiville, Jake Cody, Roberto Romanello and JP Kelly and sports legends Ken Doherty and Teddy Sheringham.

Note to editors:

Photographs of the final table and winner can be found at: - please credit Maxwell when re-posting or printing images. The story of the event, including the final table bust out hands and full list of payouts, can be found at the Paddy Power Poker Blog.

To view the photo associated with this release, please visit the following link:

Contact Information

    Jenny Cruess Callaghan
    Acting Press Officer
    00 353 1 6563922 or Mob: 00 353 87 7534989


Keyword Cloud

View Website