July 24, 2012 13:19 ET

KlabLab Rocks Science Education With Upcoming Debut Album 'One Night in Cell City'

First Single, "Newton's Laws," Available Now on iTunes

PLEASANTON, CA--(Marketwire - Jul 24, 2012) -   KlabLab, the company leading the education revolution one song at a time, today announced the upcoming release of its first album, "One Night in Cell City," debuting on iTunes Aug. 21. The seven-song album features educational songs related to astronomy, geology, biology and physics. The first single, "Newton's Laws," covering Sir Isaac Newton's three laws of motion, is available on iTunes now for 99 cents. Learning about the solar system, cellular structure or the scientific method can be fun and easy when singing along to KlabLab's original rock, pop and hip-hop tracks.

"Setting complex concepts to music makes it easier for students to grasp and remember them, but educational music often sounds outdated and cheesy," said Doug Allen, KlabLab co-founder and "One Night in Cell City" producer. "At KlabLab, we've seen the power of incorporating musical styles that kids really enjoy with lyrics that help them learn. 'One Night in Cell City' is educational, but it's also cool music that's fun to listen to. These songs sound like music you hear on the radio -- they're catchy enough that kids, parents and teachers can all enjoy learning while they sing along."

"One Night in Cell City" was produced by Allen, a professional musician and producer who's a former member of Nural and has produced albums for bands including The Relay Company and Normal Like You. Allen wrote the album with KlabLab co-founder Dave Haberman, a musician and educator. KlabLab launched in April, with Allen and Haberman conducting a Sound of Knowledge tour in California schools. During the seven-week tour, the KlabLab team visited 86 classrooms in 10 schools, where they collaborated with 32 teachers and more than 3,000 students to create educational songs about the content they were studying.

"One Night in Cell City" will include the following science-themed tracks:

1. Cell City - cellular structure and function
2. Solar System - planets in Earth's system
3. Taxonomy - identifying groups of organisms
4. The Scientific Method - steps in the scientific method
5. Newton's Laws - Newton's three laws of motion
6. Eclipses - planetary movement
7. Slow Drifting - Earth's tectonic plates

KlabLab's first album focuses on concepts commonly covered in 5th-8th grade science classes. Plans for future albums include collections of songs about mathematics, social studies and English. The KlabLab team is currently planning a national school performance tour for fall 2012. Please contact Joe O'Loughlin -- -- for more information or to schedule a stop in your district.

"One Night in Cell City" will be available on iTunes Aug. 21 for an estimated price of $7. "Newton's Laws" is available now for 99 cents at

About KlabLab
KlabLab is leading an education revolution one song at a time. Through collaborative learning and a powerful mashup of educational content and contemporary music, classroom experience and online engagement, KlabLab creates a new way to inspire today's hyper-connected, super social students. KlabLab engages students to actively learn, create new educational content, share it with their peers and get rewarded for their efforts. The angel-funded startup is located in Pleasanton, Calif. and on the Web at Follow them @KlabLab.

Contact Information

  • Media Contact
    Elliotte Bowerman
    Atomic PR
    (415) 593-1400
    Email Contact