March 07, 2007 12:32 ET

KOCH Records to Release Dale Watson's "The Little Darlin' Sessions" on May 8th, 2007

NEW YORK, NY -- (MARKET WIRE) -- March 7, 2007 -- Dale Watson is set to release "The Little Darlin' Sessions," a collection of hit Little Darlin' songs recorded by Watson in his own style. Little Darlin' the country label, which had numerous hits over the years, was most famously the home of recording artist Johnny Paycheck.

The founder of Little Darlin', Aubrey Mayhew, came out of retirement in August 2005 to produce these tracks for Watson. The album was recorded at the Sound Emporium in Nashville, where Watson sang live as the band performed. The musicians on the album -- Lloyd Green, Pete Wade, Billy Sanford, "Hoot" Hester and Hargus "Pig Robbins -- all played on songs released by Little Darlin' during the label's heydey.

The final cut of songs includes some of the most incredible tracks released by Little Darlin'; songs written by Johnny Paycheck, "Groovey" Joe Poovey and Aubrey himself. Great country songs like, "Touch My Heart," "Apartment #9" and the offbeat "He Thought He Die Laughing" to name a few.

The Austin Chronicle says of Watson, "Dale Watson saves country music every day and night with one honky-tonk two-step after another."

During his career, Watson has recorded hundreds of original songs, some of which have been included in major film soundtracks, has been featured in numerous compilation albums with country legends, including Waylon Jennings, Willie Nelson and Dwight Yoakam, and has performed live with Nelson as well as Merle Haggard and Johnny Paycheck.

He has won the British Country Music Awards "Best International Artist on an Independent Label," and country music awards in Holland and Spain, making him a household name in Europe.

In 2005, he was inducted into The Austin Music Hall of Fame, and beat out Willie Nelson for The Austin Music Awards "Best Country" band. It was the third time he won that award. He's also won an Austin Music Award as "Best Songwriter."

The tracklisting for "The Little Darlin' Sessions":

1.  Touch My Heart (Aubrey Mayhew, Johnny Paycheck)
2.  Down On The Corner (At A Bar Called Kelly's) (Aubrey Mayhew,
    Johnny Paycheck)
3.  Jukebox Charlie (Aubrey Mayhew, Johnny Paycheck)
4.  Big Town Baby (Paul Angel)
5.  Lovin' Machine (Larry Kingston)
6.  If I'm Gonna Sink (Aubrey Mayhew, Johnny Paycheck)
7.  I Don't Need A Bottle (Aubrey Mayhew)
8.  Apartment #9 (Johnny Paycheck, Bobby Austin)
9.  I Never Had The One That I Wanted (Claude Gray, Jimmy Louis,
    Sheb Wooley)
10. Everything You Touch Turns To Hurt (Aubrey Mayhew, Johnny Paycheck)
11. The Pint of No Return (Aubrey Mayhew)
12. He Thought He'd Die Laughing (Joe Poovey)
13. Memory Crossing (Larry Lee Favorite, Harlan Sanders)
14. Late and Great Me (Joe Poovey)
15. Wherever You Are (Aubrey Mayhew, Johnny Paycheck)
About KOCH Records

KOCH Records is a division of KOCH Entertainment, the fastest-growing music company and the market leader among independents in North America. The KOCH Entertainment corporate umbrella encompasses the KOCH Records label, KOCH Vision home video, KOCH Music Publishing and KOCH Entertainment Distribution with operations in both the U.S. and Canada. KOCH Records proudly claims the largest number of Billboard charting albums among independents for each of the last six years (2001-2006). For additional info on the KOCH Records label and its roster of artists, please visit

Contact Information

  • For more information, contact:
    Giovanna Melchiorre
    Email Contact