SOURCE: Dove Entertainment LLC

November 24, 2015 07:36 ET

Kurtis Blow, Whodini, Afrika Bambaataa & Soulsonic Force, and The Lockers Lead The 2015 Hip Hop Hall of Fame Awards TV Show Inductee Class

Tickets On-Sale Now for The Hip Hop Hall of Fame Awards TV Show Is Set for Thursday December 10th at Lehman College Theater in Bronx NYC 7PM

NEW YORK, NY--(Marketwired - November 24, 2015) - The Hip Hop Hall of Fame Museum prepares to have some new members added to the growing list of Inductees ahead of its December 2015 Office and Youth Arts & Media Academy Opening in Harlem.

The Hip Hop Hall of Fame Awards unveils the first four 2015 Inductees ahead of the Inductees Press Conference Announcement scheduled for first week of December. The Inductees are Kurtis Blow, Whodini, Afrika Bambaaataa & The Soulsonic Force, and The Lockers. The Show will be Hosted by the Legendary Roxanne Shante and taped for national television on Thursday December 10th at 7PM at the Lehman College Theater in the Bronx, NYC, the Birthplace of Hip Hop Music & Culture. Tickets are on-sale now at the Official HHHOF Website, and at ranging from $40, $50, $60 with $100 VIP Tickets that include a pre-show Mixer.

The 2015 Inductee Class includes many of the certifiable players in hip hop music and cultural history spanning all four of its elements. "The artists, groups, deejays, b-boys/girls, graffiti artists and entrepreneurs being inducted have all made significant contributions to the birth, establishment, and advancement of the culture," stated awards show Creator-Executive Producer on BET Network in the 1990s JT Thompson, who also serves as Chairman of the Hip Hop Hall of Fame Museum.

Afrika Bambaataa & The SoulSonic Force:

It's only right that the one and only Afrika Bambaataa would make history again as the first dual Hall of Famer. As announced earlier he will receive the Lifetime Achievement Award, but he will also be Inducted with his group the Soul Sonic Force whose all-time classic record 'Planet Rock' changed the world and created other musical genres such as Electro Funk, and Miami Bass. The Soul Sonic Force which includes Pow Wow, Mr. Biggs, and MC Globe were among the very first hip hop groups to bring hip hop music overseas and spread the culture to Europe and Asia.

Kurtis Blow:

The seminal hip hop icon Kurtis Blow will also be Inducted in 2015. Considered by some as the first hip hop movie star, in 1979 he recorded and released 'Christmas Rap,' as he became the first hip hop artists signed to a major record label, Mercury Records. He, along with fellow Hall of Famer Sal Abbatiello of the famed Disco Fever Venue, starred in the movie 'Krush Groove' alongside Run-DMC. Kurtis is a documentarian and has also produced for many artists including The Fat Boys, Run-DMC, and Wyclef Jean. He is also a member of the Bronx Walk of Fame, initiated by Bronx Borough President Ruben Diaz, and he is also a Minister of the first Hip Hop Church.

The Lockers and Pop-Locking:

Hip Hop has had numerous influences and influencers and The World Famous Lockers from Los Angeles are no exception. The Lockers were formed in 1971, and took off in 1973, the same year Hip Hop was born. This is important as it was an indicator that Hip Hop was a national movement. The Original members of the Lockers are Don 'Campbellock' Campbell, Toni Basil, Fred 'Re-Run' Berry, Greg 'Campbellock Jr' Pope, Adolfo 'Shabba-Doo' Quinones, Bill 'Slim the Robot' Williams, and Leo 'Fluky Luke' Williamson. Toni Basil went on to Pop Stardom recording the hit song 'Mickey.' Fred 'Re-Run' Berry went on to star in the TV series 'What's Happening' and other film and television roles. The iconic Shabba-Doo went on to be one of the all time great Soul Train Dancers, Dance Instructor & Choreographer, who also starred in the Hip Hop Movies 'Breakin' and 'Breakin' 2,' solidifying his place in hip hop history. The term 'Pop-Locking' comes from The Lockers.


The Brooklyn based hip hop trio Whodini was formed in 1981. The group members included MC's Jalil Hutchins, and John 'Ecstasy' Fletcher, who wore his trademark 'Zorro' hat with DJ Drew 'Grandmaster Dee' on the turntables. Managed by hip hop impresario Russell Simmons, the group put out radio and club hits after hits including '5 Minutes of Funk,' 'Friends,' and 'The Freaks Come Out at Night' with many of them done by bass player Larry Smith. The group signed with Jive Records in 1982. From 1982 to 1986, the group was at its most productive; they toured with the more successful bands such as Run-D.M.C., LL Cool J, the Fat Boys, and other prominent hip hop, R&B and funk bands. The group was also involved in the first 'Fresh Fest' tour, which was the first hip hop tour to play large coliseums nationwide.

Hip Hop Hall of Fame Museum development committee co-chairs, and associate producers will include DJ Lord Yoda X of Freedome7 & Zulu Nation, Easy AD and DJ Tony Tone for Audio of the Legendary Cold Crush Brothers, Dr. Deborah 'Debbie D' Hooper of the US Girls, Talent & Tour Manager Jeffrey 'Big Jeff' Boyd, and James Top of the Graffiti Hall of Fame.

Fans can support the HHHOF Museum by signing up and becoming VIP Members for $35 at . The first 350,000 Fans who sign up for VIP Memberships be enshrined as 'Founding Fans' in a real HHHOF Museum exhibit. Follow us online on facebook and twitter at . For more information contact, and press and media inquiries contact Dove Entertainment.

Image Available:
Image Available:
Image Available:
Image Available:

Contact Information

  • Contact
    Nadia Harrell