SOURCE: Latin Trade

Latin Trade

September 20, 2010 10:49 ET

Latin Trade BRAVO Business Awards Recognize Former Colombian President Alvaro Uribe With Lifetime Achievement Award

President Uribe Recognized for Leadership in Security and Economics -- Honored Among Ten Outstanding Achievers in 2010

MIAMI, FL--(Marketwire - September 20, 2010) - Latin Trade, the leading pan-regional business magazine focusing on Latin America and the Caribbean, announced today that former Colombian President, Alvaro Uribe, will be recognized with the Lifetime Achievement Award at the 16th Annual Latin Trade BRAVO Business Awards, to be held on October 29 in Miami. Uribe is being honored for his achievements in creating a model for Latin America by rebuilding a new Colombia and establishing a renewed sense of national pride.

For 16 years, the BRAVO Business Awards have honored excellence and achievement in Latin America and the Caribbean, nominating a variety of leaders, in government, business, finance and technology sectors, as well as in environmental and humanitarian areas.

The BRAVO Awards Black-Tie Gala and Awards Ceremony, a signature event to honor the outstanding Leaders of the Year, will be held at the Four Seasons Hotel in Miami on October 29, 2010.

The awards ceremony will take place in conjunction with the Latin Trade Symposium. Organized in partnership with the Inter-American Development Bank and the Americas Society/Council of the Americas, the symposium will focus on the building of a new Latin America, with an in-depth view at those leading effective business practices, corporate social responsibility, and sustainability strategies, that continue contributing to the region's success.

In addition to Uribe, the other nine winners include:

Brazil's Foreign Minister Celso Amorim, who has been named Innovative Leader of the Year for his skills and commitment having played a central role in Brazil's evolution from a regional player to becoming an international power. 

Luciano Coutinho, president of Banco Nacional de Desenvolvimento Econômico e Social (BNDES), has been named Financier of the Year, for making BNDES the driving force behind the Brazilian economy, positioning it as one of the world's leaders.

Luis Alberto Moreno, President, Inter-American Development Bank, will get a Distinguished Service Award for making the IDB a force for change in Latin America and the Caribbean.

Woods Staton, CEO, Arcos Dorados, has been named Dynamic CEO of the Year for creating the largest McDonald's franchise in the world.

Ricardo Gutiérrez Muñoz, CEO, Mexichem, has been named CEO of the Year for guiding the company's expansion, creating an integrated, global producer of specialty chemicals.

Ronald Pantin, CEO, Pacific Rubiales Energy, has been named Pioneering CEO of the Year. He has laid down solid roots in the Colombian oil sector through his leadership of a leading private oil company.

John E. Davies, VP & General Manager, Intel World Ahead Program, has been named Technology Leader of the Year for helping bridge the digital divide by providing access to Internet technologies in Latin America and the Caribbean.

Álvaro Ugalde, President, Nectandra Institute, has been named Environmentalist of the Year for his lifelong commitment to the environment's preservation and creating a successful national park system in Costa Rica.

Pilar Nores de García, President for Instituto Trabajo y Familia and First Lady of Peru, has been named Humanitarian of the Year for dedicating herself to improving the lives of the poor in rural communities.

For more information, please visit

BRAVO Business Awards Sponsors: InterContinental Hotels Group, Chevron, Copa Airlines, HSBC, Bupa, FedEx, FTI Consulting Inc., Right Space Management, SAP, and Thrifty Car Rental, and partners: Ashoka, CNN en Español, Financial Times and República.

Latin Trade Symposium partners: Inter-American Development Bank and Americas Society/Council of the Americas.

Contact Information