SOURCE: Latin Trade

Latin Trade

October 14, 2009 11:00 ET

LATIN TRADE BRAVO BUSINESS AWARDS Recognize Mexico's President as "Leader of the Year" -- Honored Among the Nine Outstanding Achievers in 2009

MIAMI, FL--(Marketwire - October 14, 2009) - LATIN TRADE, the leading pan-regional business magazine focusing on Latin America and the Caribbean, announced today that Mexican President Felipe Calderón Hinojosa will be recognized as the Leader of the Year at the 15th annual BRAVO Business Awards, to be held on October 30 in Miami.

The BRAVO Business Awards honor excellence and achievement in Latin America and the Caribbean. For 15 years, the readers of LATIN TRADE have nominated a variety of Latin American and Caribbean leaders in government, business, finance and technology sectors, as well as in environmental and humanitarian areas.

The awards ceremony -- an event often referred to as the Oscars of Latin American business -- will be held at the Four Seasons Hotel in Miami on October 30, 2009.

The awards ceremony will take place in conjunction with the LATIN TRADE Symposium, to be held in the morning on the same day. The symposium, organized in partnership with the Inter-American Development Bank and the Americas Society/Council of the Americas, will focus on the hemisphere's response to the global economic crisis, a look at how Latin American companies are giving back to their communities and how Mexico is meeting the current challenges.

Winners In the Nine Categories:

Leader of the Year -- Felipe Calderón Hinojosa -- President of Mexico

Most Innovative Leader -- Andrés Velasco -- Finance Minister of Chile

Velasco created a financial stabilization fund that has served to cushion Chile's economy during the crisis and has provided a steady hand during the turmoil.

Financier of the Year -- Enrique García -- President & CEO -- Corporación Andina de Fomento (CAF)

García has turned the CAF into one of the premier multilateral lending institutions in the region.

CEO of the Year -- Daniel Servitje -- CEO, Grupo Bimbo -- Mexico

The dynamic CEO has solidified Grupo Bimbo's position as a world leader in the bakery business.

Social Responsibility CEO of the Year -- Lorenzo Mendoza, CEO, Empresas Polar -- Venezuela

Mendoza leads Venezuela's largest industrial conglomerate, and also dedicated his time and energy to corporate social responsibility.

Pioneering CEO of the Year -- Federico Restrepo Posada -- CEO, Empresas Públicas de Medellín -- Colombia

Restrepo is taking Medellín's model utilities company to a new level while maintaining the company's role in supporting progressive programs in education, libraries and science.

Technology CEO of the Year -- Láercio Cosentino -- CEO, TOTVS -- Brazil

The one-time software programmer, Cosentino has led his company to become the ninth largest enterprise resource planning software company in the world.

Environmental Leader of the Year -- Douglas Tompkins -- President, Foundation for Deep Ecology -- Chile

Tompkins created the one of the largest private land preserves in the world in Pumalín Park, 224,000 hectares of temperate rainforest overseen by a private foundation.

Humanitarian of the Year -- Rebeca Villalobos -- Founder, ASEMBIS -- Costa Rica

With just $500 and some help from private doctors, Villalobos founded low-cost health care clinics that have treated more than three million people.

For more information, please visit

BRAVO Business Awards Sponsors: InterContinental Hotels Group, Chevron, Copa Airlines, Hewlett Packard, HSBC, and partners: Ashoka, CNN en Español, Financial Times, Google, The Nature Conservancy

LATIN TRADE Symposium partners: Inter-American Development Bank and Americas Society/Council of the Americas

Contact Information