Law Society of Upper Canada

Law Society of Upper Canada

May 19, 2011 14:57 ET

Law Society Awards Honour the Best of the Legal Profession

TORONTO, ONTARIO--(Marketwire - May 19, 2011) - Eight Ontario lawyers whose careers represent the highest level of achievement and commitment to serving society and the profession will receive awards from the Law Society of Upper Canada on May 25, 2011. Treasurer Laurie H. Pawlitza will present the Law Society Medal, the Lincoln Alexander Award and the Laura Legge Award to recipients at a special ceremony at Osgoode Hall in Toronto.

Full-length biographies for the 2011 Law Society award recipients are located on our website.

Established in 1985, the Law Society Medal is given to outstanding lawyers in Ontario in recognition of exceptional service in a particular area of practice, the academic sphere or some other professional capacity.

"We are very pleased to honour the 2011 award recipients for their extraordinary contributions to the legal profession and to their communities," says Treasurer Pawlitza. "These individuals embody the highest ideals of the profession and serve as role models for current and future generations of lawyers."

This year's Law Society Medal recipients are: Roderic G. Ferguson, Q.C., of Midland; Alfred A. Mamo of London; David C. Nahwegahbow, I.P.C., of Whitefish River First Nation; Cynthia Petersen of Toronto; Carol A. Shamess of Sault Ste. Marie; and Ronald G. Slaght, Q.C., of Toronto.

The Lincoln Alexander Award was created in 2002 in honour of former Lieutenant Governor of Ontario, Member of Parliament, and 2002 Law Society Medal recipient, the Honourable Lincoln M. Alexander, P.C., C.C., O. Ont., C.D., Q.C., LSM, in recognition of his dedication to the people of Ontario and the legal community. The award is presented to an Ontario lawyer who has demonstrated a commitment to the public and its well-being through community service. This year's recipient of the Lincoln Alexander Award is Stanley M. Tick, Q.C. of Hamilton.

The Laura Legge Award was established in 2007 and is presented in honour of the late Laura Legge, O. Ont., Q.C., the first woman elected a bencher of the Law Society and the first woman to serve as Treasurer. The award is presented to a woman lawyer in Ontario who has exemplified leadership within the profession. This year's recipient is Fay K. Brunning of Ottawa.

"Each of this year's recipients has demonstrated an ability and a willingness as a member of the legal profession to improve society and advance the core values of access to justice, equity and diversity and public protection," adds Treasurer Pawlitza. "Their ongoing work to enhance the legal profession and their commitment to the public interest is truly laudable."

The awards ceremony takes place on Wednesday, May 25 at 5:30 p.m. in the Donald Lamont Centre, Osgoode Hall, 130 Queen Street West, Toronto.

The Law Society regulates lawyers and paralegals in Ontario in the public interest. The Law Society has a mandate to protect the public interest, to maintain and advance the cause of justice and the rule of law, to facilitate access to justice for the people of Ontario and act in a timely, open and efficient manner.

For more information about the Law Society, visit us online.

Contact Information

  • Law Society of Upper Canada
    Lisa Hall
    Manager, Communications
    (416) 947-7625

    Law Society of Upper Canada
    Susan Tonkin
    Communications Advisor
    (416) 947-7605