Law Society of Upper Canada

Law Society of Upper Canada

May 17, 2012 16:18 ET

Law Society Awards Recognize the Best of the Profession

TORONTO, ONTARIO--(Marketwire - May 17, 2012) - Nine members of the legal profession from across Ontario whose careers represent the highest level of achievement and commitment to serving society and the profession will receive awards from the Law Society of Upper Canada on May 23, 2012.

Treasurer Laurie H. Pawlitza will present the Law Society Medal, the Lincoln Alexander Award, the Laura Legge Award and the Law Society Distinguished Paralegal Award to recipients at a special ceremony at Osgoode Hall in Toronto.

"Throughout their careers, these nine outstanding individuals have continued to enrich their profession, as well as their communities," says Treasurer Pawlitza. "They serve as true role models for the province's lawyers and paralegals and we are extremely pleased to honour them with the Law Society's highest awards of recognition."

Established in 1985, the Law Society Medal is given to outstanding lawyers in Ontario in recognition of exceptional service, whether in a particular area of practice, in the academic sphere, or in some other professional capacity.

This year's Law Society Medal recipients are: Margaret Bloodworth, C.M.; J. Bruce Carr-Harris; James R. Caskey, Q.C.; Mary M.S. Fox; Professor Vern Krishna, C.M., Q.C., F.R.S.C., LL.D. (Hon.); and The Honourable Doug Lewis, Q.C.

The Lincoln Alexander Award was created in 2002 in honour of former Lieutenant Governor of Ontario, Member of Parliament, and 2002 Law Society Medal recipient Colonel The Honourable Lincoln M. Alexander, P.C., C.C., O. Ont., C.D., Q.C., LSM, in recognition of his dedication to the people of Ontario and the legal community. The award is presented to an Ontario lawyer who has demonstrated a commitment to the public and its well being through community service. This year's recipient of the Lincoln Alexander Award is Keith J.F. Jobbitt.

The Laura Legge Award was established in 2007 and is presented in honour of the late Laura Legge, O. Ont., Q.C., the first woman elected a bencher of the Law Society and the first woman to serve as Treasurer. The award is presented to a woman lawyer in Ontario who has exemplified leadership within the profession. This year's recipient is Mary P. Weaver, Q.C.

The Law Society Distinguished Paralegal Award was created in September 2011 and recognizes a paralegal who has demonstrated one or more of the following attributes: outstanding professional achievement, contribution to the development of the profession, devotion to professional duties, adherence to best practices and mentoring of others in best practices, a history of community service and personal character that brings credit to the paralegal profession. This year's recipient is Brian J. Lawrie.

"The 2012 award recipients all have a remarkable record of public service, excellence in the profession and commitment to access to justice," says Treasurer Pawlitza. "We applaud them for their many contributions and for the strong commitment they have demonstrated to the public interest of Ontarians."

The Law Society regulates lawyers and paralegals in Ontario in the public interest. The Law Society has a mandate to protect the public interest, to maintain and advance the cause of justice and the rule of law, to facilitate access to justice for the people of Ontario and act in a timely, open and efficient manner.

Full-length biographies for the 2012 Law Society Award recipients are located on our website:

For more information, visit us online.

Contact Information