Law Society of Upper Canada

Law Society of Upper Canada

May 22, 2013 15:09 ET

Law Society Awards Recognize the Best of the Profession

TORONTO, ONTARIO--(Marketwired - May 22, 2013) - Ten members of the legal profession from across Ontario whose careers represent the highest level of achievement and commitment to serving society and the profession will receive awards from the Law Society of Upper Canada on May 29, 2013.

Treasurer Thomas G. Conway will present the Law Society Medal, the Lincoln Alexander Award, the Laura Legge Award and the Law Society Distinguished Paralegal Award to recipients at a special ceremony at Osgoode Hall in Toronto.

"The Law Society is extremely pleased to honour these 10 exceptional individuals and celebrate their many achievements. Their leadership, dedication and passion for the legal profession are truly inspiring," says Law Society Treasurer Thomas G. Conway. "Through their unique contributions to their communities, each recipient has advanced the profession's core principles of access to justice and equality."

Established in 1985, the Law Society Medal is given to outstanding lawyers in Ontario in recognition of exceptional service, whether in a particular area of practice, in the academic sphere, or in some other professional capacity.

This year's Law Society Medal recipients are:

  • The Honourable W. Dan Chilcott, QC
  • Paul D. Copeland, CM
  • Ralph Haskings Frayne
  • Edward L. Greenspan, QC
  • Martha A. McCarthy
  • The Honourable R. Roy McMurtry, OC, OOnt, QC
  • Delia Opekokew, IPC

The Lincoln Alexander Award was created in 2002 in honour of former Lieutenant Governor of Ontario, Member of Parliament, and 2002 Law Society Medal recipient, the late Lincoln M. Alexander, PC, CC, OOnt., CD, QC, LSM, in recognition of his dedication to the people of Ontario and the legal community. The award is presented to an Ontario lawyer who has demonstrated a commitment to the public and its well-being through community service. This year's recipient is Frank E. Walwyn.

The Laura Legge Award was established in 2007 and is presented in honour of the late Laura Legge, OOnt., QC, the first woman elected a bencher of the Law Society and the first woman to serve as Treasurer. The award is presented to a woman lawyer in Ontario who has exemplified leadership within the profession. This year's recipient is Marie T. Henein.

The Law Society Distinguished Paralegal Award was created in 2011 and recognizes a paralegal who has demonstrated one or more of the following attributes: outstanding professional achievement, contribution to the development of the profession, devotion to professional duties, adherence to best practices and mentoring of others in best practices, a history of community service and personal character that brings credit to the paralegal profession. This year's recipient is Elaine Page.

The Law Society regulates lawyers and paralegals in Ontario in the public interest. The Law Society has a mandate to protect the public interest, to maintain and advance the cause of justice and the rule of law, to facilitate access to justice for the people of Ontario and act in a timely, open and efficient manner.

Biographies for the 2013 Law Society Award recipients are located on the online Gazette.

For more information visit us online.

Contact Information

  • Law Society of Upper Canada
    Susan Tonkin
    Communications Advisor

    Law Society of Upper Canada
    Denise McCourtie
    Communications Advisor