SOURCE: League of California Cities

March 30, 2006 12:22 ET

League of California Cities Names Sen. Feinstein, Congressman Miller, 'Congressional Leaders of the Year'

SACRAMENTO, CA -- (MARKET WIRE) -- March 30, 2006 -- Sen. Dianne Feinstein (D-Calif.) and Congressman Gary Miller (R-Calif.-42) have been named co-recipients of the League of California Cities' "Congressional Leader of the Year" award.

The awards were announced and presented at the National League of Cities' (NLC) Congressional Cities Conference in Washington, D.C., earlier this month.

Congressman Miller was recognized primarily for his work supporting Community Development Block Grant (CDBG) funding. As the vice chair of the House Financial Services Subcommittee on Housing and Community Opportunity, the congressman took the lead in actively opposing President Bush's FY 2006 proposal to eliminate the CDBG program, which helped preserve the program.

Sen. Feinstein was selected for the second time by the League. In 2005, she led the charge in the Senate on homeland security funding with the introduction of League-supported first responders' legislation to make the distribution of homeland security grant funding more equitable for California and other high threat states. In addition, Feinstein also actively supported CDBG funding, helping preserve the program in FY 2006.

"CDBG and homeland security are critical issues for California cities and for the League," said League President Alex Padilla. "Sen. Feinstein and Congressman Miller have demonstrated both that they understand how important these issues are to cities, and their willingness to fight to protect local communities."

"Sen. Feinstein and Congressman Miller have been outstanding leaders on behalf California cities throughout the past year," added League Executive Director Chris McKenzie. "We're delighted to recognize them and highlight their hard work on issues of vital importance to the cities of California."

The Congressional Leader of the Year award was formally established in 2000. The award is given from time to time in special recognition of one or more members of the California Congressional delegation for their outstanding contributions to the cities of California, as selected by the League board of directors.

Contact Information

  • Contact:
    Megan Taylor
    (916) 658-8228

    Brian Heaton
    (916) 658-8264

    1400 K Street
    Suite 400
    Sacramento, California 95814
    Phone: (916) 658-8200
    Fax: (916) 658-8240