SOURCE: League of California Cities

September 07, 2007 20:44 ET

League of California Cities Annual Conference Wraps Up: New Board Officers Named

SACRAMENTO, CA--(Marketwire - September 7, 2007) - The League of California Cities today announced the election of new officers to form the 2007-2008 executive committee of its board of directors. The new officers were introduced at the closing general session of the League's 109th Annual Conference in Sacramento.

San Diego City Council Member Jim Madaffer will serve as the League's president, assuming the post held for the past year by Pinole Mayor Maria Alegria. Sacramento Mayor Heather Fargo will assume the role of first vice president, and Rolling Hills Estates Council Member Judy Mitchell will join the League's executive committee as second vice president.

The League's bylaws call for officers to serve one-year terms. Under the League bylaws, Alegria now becomes immediate past president of the League, and remains a member of the executive committee. Madaffer moves up to his current position after serving the past year as first vice president. Fargo has served the past year as second vice president.

"Pinole Mayor Maria Alegria has been an outstanding leader for the League of California Cities this year," said League Executive Director Chris McKenzie. "Her leadership and that of our entire executive committee, has been critical to our legislative efforts on infrastructure, eminent domain reform, climate change and affordable housing."

Keynote speaker Sir Ken Robinson, Ph.D., addressed the attendees following the introduction of the League's new board members. An internationally recognized leader in the development of creativity, innovation and human resources, Robinson emphasized the unique opportunity the cities of California have to be creative leaders in an ever-changing, innovative culture.

"California is blazing a trail about the need for sustainable development. The state is on the move, and [as city officials] your role is to help California sustain its creativity and innovation," Robinson said.

A complete program from the annual conference can be viewed online at

Contact Information

  • Contact:
    Eva Spiegel
    (916) 658-8228

    Brian Heaton
    (916) 658-8264