SOURCE: Hickok Belt Award

July 18, 2012 07:15 ET

LeBron James Selected as the Hickok Belt™ Award Winner for June 2012

ROCHESTER, NY--(Marketwire - Jul 18, 2012) - Miami Heat forward LeBron James has been selected as the Hickok Belt Award winner for the month of June 2012. Voting was conducted by a select panel of members of the National Sportscasters and Sportswriters Association (NSSA). James was selected based on his outstanding performance in the NBA playoffs throughout the month, culminating with the Miami Heat being crowned league champions and his selection as MVP of the NBA Finals. James averaged 28.6 points, 10.2 rebounds and 7.4 assists per game while shooting .473 from the floor in the finals against the Oklahoma City Thunder en route to his first NBA Championship.

Other finalists for the month of May in order of how the NSSA voters ranked them included: Jonathan Quick (hockey), Matt Cain (baseball), R.A. Dickey (baseball), Tiger Woods (golf), Maria Sharapova (tennis), Rafael Nadal (tennis), Fernando Torres (soccer), John Velazquez (horse racing), and Joey Logano (auto racing).

James' selection as the Hickok Belt Award winner for June not only recognizes him as "the best of the best" in professional sports for the month, it also marks another milestone in the return of the award given to the top professional athlete across all sports. As a monthly recipient James becomes the sixth of twelve finalists for the overall annual award, joining previous monthly award winners including Eli Manning, Jeremy Lin, Lindsey Vonn, Bubba Watson and Josh Hamilton. Winners as selected by the NSSA will be announced each month throughout 2012. The overall winner will then be announced in early 2013, as the Hickok Belt Award, the crown jewel of sports, will be presented for the first time in over 36 years.

The Hickok Belt Award was originally presented annually from 1950 - 1976. Past recipients include a list of the 20th century's elite athletes including the likes of Muhammad Ali, Arnold Palmer, Mickey Mantle, Willie Mays, Jim Brown and others who defined their sports. To learn more about the rich history of the Hickok Belt Award and keep up with all the news surrounding the award in 2012, please visit

Contact Information

  • News Media:
    For more information, contact
    Larry Kleehammer
    Email Contact