SOURCE: Legion of Christ

Legion of Christ

April 20, 2009 09:00 ET

Legion of Christ, Southern Catholic Eye Long-Term Collaboration

ATLANTA, GA--(Marketwire - April 20, 2009) - The Legion of Christ and Southern Catholic College (SCC) have signed a memorandum of understanding (MOU) that could make possible the college becoming a Legion institution.

"We are excited about this development," said Jeremiah J. Ashcroft, president of SCC. "By collaborating with the Legion, we'll be able to attract students from across North America and develop programs with institutions around the world. This expanded reach and support greatly enhances our ability to achieve our mission to prepare moral and ethical leaders who will enlighten society and glorify God."

"By working with SCC, the Legion can accelerate its desire to offer a greater contribution to higher education in North America. Nevertheless, we are still working things out, so it's not a done deal yet," said Father Scott Reilly, L.C., territorial director for Legion. "Southern Catholic is a great college and there would be considerable sharing of best practices with our existing institutions. I expect that SCC will experience significant growth in student population in the years ahead, with added growth coming from Legion-affiliated secondary schools in North America."

Southern Catholic College is a co-educational liberal arts college, Georgia's first and only residential Catholic college. The school provides a learning environment for academic excellence grounded in the Catholic intellectual and moral tradition. SCC was founded in 2000 and has more than 200 students from 25 states on its campus in Dawsonville, GA, an hour north of Atlanta.

The Legion of Christ is a religious congregation of Pontifical right, founded in 1941. Its mission is to extend the Kingdom of Christ in society according to the requirements of Christian justice and charity. The congregation operates in 22 countries and has 800 priests and more than 2600 seminarians worldwide. The Legion operates 15 universities, 50 institutes of higher education and 176 schools.

Contact Information