SOURCE: Light Reading

Light Reading

February 18, 2016 10:00 ET

Light Reading's Leading Lights 2016 Awards Program Is Open for Submissions That Showcase Communications Industry Excellence

Prestigious Awards Program Adds 5G & Transformation Categories & Incorporates Women in Comms Awards

NEW YORK, NY--(Marketwired - Feb 18, 2016) - Light Reading (, the market-leading online community for the global communications sector, today announced that Leading Lights, the telecom industry's most prestigious awards program, is open for nominations. Now in its 12th year, Leading Lights has been expanded with two new categories, taking the total to 26, while the broader awards program now incorporates three new Women in Comms (WiC) awards as well as the latest additions to Light Reading's Hall of Fame. 

"Our annual awards program highlights the companies that are innovating in the communications technology and services industry. Last year we added new categories to recognize early achievements in SDN, NFV, IoT, gigabit broadband and more. This year we've added two new categories that will shine a light on exciting developments related to 5G and Service Provider Transformation strategies," said Light Reading Editor-in-Chief Ray Le Maistre. "We've also introduced our first ever Women in Comms award categories. I look forward to celebrating with the winners of all those new awards at our annual Leading Lights gala dinner, which this year will be in Austin on May 23. It's going to be a great party and a very special evening, as we have a genuine, 19th century Ericsson 'skeleton' phone to hand out as one of this year's trophies."

The complete list of categories is:

  •  Best New Product (Cable)
  •  Best New Product (Mobile)
  •  Best New Product (Telecom)
  •  Most Innovative SMB Service
  •  Most Innovative Enterprise Service
  •  Most Innovative Wireless Service (3G, 4G, Carrier WiFi)
  •  Most Innovative Carrier Cloud Service
  •  Most Innovative Ethernet/Optical Service
  •  Most Innovative Video Service
  •  Most Innovative NFV Deployment Strategy (Network/Data Center Operator) 
  •  Most Innovative NFV Product Strategy (Vendor) 
  •  Most Innovative SDN Deployment Strategy (Network/Data Center Operator) 
  •  Most Innovative SDN Product Strategy (Vendor) 
  •  Most Innovative Security Strategy (Service Provider) 
  •  Most Innovative Security Strategy (Vendor) 
  •  Most Innovative Gigabit Broadband Service 
  •  Most Innovative IoT/M2M Strategy (Service Provider) 
  •  Most Innovative IoT/M2M Strategy (Vendor) 
  •  Most Innovative 5G Strategy *NEW*
  •  Outstanding Transformation Strategy (Service Provider) *NEW*
  •  Outstanding Components Vendor
  •  Outstanding Test & Measurement Vendor
  •  Outstanding OSS/BSS Vendor
  •  Company of the Year (Private)
  •  Company of the Year (Public)
  •  Best Deal Maker

The three Women in Comms awards are:

  • Most Inspiring Woman in Comms *NEW*
  •  Female Tech Pioneer of the Year *NEW*
  •  Female-Led Startup to Watch *NEW

"While the gender balance in the comms industry remains uneven, there is no shortage of qualified women making a big difference in the sector from both a technology and diversity perspective," said WiC Director Sarah Thomas. "The WiC Board of Advisors is excited to highlight the achievements of three women who are leveling the playing field for their fellow females, advancing technology and disrupting the market in 2016."

In addition, Light Reading will be expanding its Hall of Fame, which recognizes those individuals, both the famous and the infamous, who have made a notable contribution to the global telecom sector. Nominations can be submitted for the Hall of Fame, although the individuals considered for this particular award may be nominated by Light Reading's editorial team.

The Leading Lights Awards winners and Light Reading Hall of Fame inductees will be announced at an awards dinner in Austin on May 23 (details to be announced soon), the evening before the Big Communications Event ( The deadline for Leading Lights entries and Light Reading Hall of Fame nominations is March 25. Finalists for the Leading Lights Awards will be announced on Light Reading by April 29. Judging is conducted by Light Reading's editors and the analyst team from Heavy Reading (

For further details about the awards, including links to the entry submission forms and the frequently asked questions page, visit

To find out who won the Leading Lights in 2015, visit

To see which individuals were inducted into the Light Reading Hall of Fame in 2014, visit

For information on Leading Lights sponsorship opportunities, email

Follow Light Reading on Facebook, LinkedIn, Twitter and YouTube for all the latest news.

About Light Reading

Light Reading ( combines its research-led online communities and targeted events portfolio to help those in the global communications industry make informed decisions. is the ultimate source for telecom analysis for more than 400,000 subscribers each month, leading the media sector in terms of traffic, content and reputation. Light Reading produces targeted communications events and focused one-day conferences each year for cable, mobile and wireline executives across five continents.

Contact Information