SOURCE: NASDAQ

January 17, 2006 13:23 ET

LIVE from DAVOS, Switzerland

The NASDAQ Stock Market Opening Ceremony From Outside the U.S.

NASDAQ Celebrates the World Economic Forum's Annual Meeting With a Remote Opening Bell

-- (MARKET WIRE) -- January 17, 2006 --


What:

The NASDAQ Stock Market will open its market remotely from outside the United States of America from Davos, Switzerland at the World Economic Forum's Annual meeting. On Thursday January 26th, NASDAQ Executives along with Sir Richard Branson, chairman and owner of the Virgin Group of Companies and various NASDAQ listed companies will open the market.

The Opening Bell ceremony will be simultaneously displayed at the NASDAQ MarketSite from NASDAQ's premier broadcast studio in Times Square.

The Opening Bell is a ceremonial event that represents The NASDAQ Stock Market's virtual market model. As a result, NASDAQ can be opened from any location bringing together investors and market participants from around the world to mark the beginning of the trading day.

Who:

Bob Greifeld, President and CEO, The NASDAQ Stock Market;

Bruce Aust, Executive Vice President, Corporate Client Group, The NASDAQ Stock Market;

Edward Knight, Executive Vice President and General Counsel, The NASDAQ Stock Market;

Charlotte Crosswell, Head of NASDAQ International;

Bill O'Brien, Senior Vice President, New Listings, Corporate Client Group, The NASDAQ Stock Market; and

Sir Richard Branson, Chairman and owner of the Virgin Group of Companies

When:

Thursday, January 26th, 2006

NASDAQ Opening Bell Ceremony:

6:20 a.m. P.T./9:20 a.m. E.T./2:20 p.m. G.M.T, 3.20pm Switzerland

to

6:35 a.m. P.T./9:35 a.m. E.T./2:35 p.m. G.M.T, 3.35pm Switzerland.

Where:

Waldhotel Bellevue, front lawn terrace
Buolstrasse 3, - CH-7270 Davos Platz

WEBCAST:

A live Webcast of the NASDAQ Opening Bell will be available at: http://www.nasdaq.com/reference/marketsite_about.stm. Scroll to the bottom of the page and click on MarketSite Web Cam.

BROADCAST:

Time: 1345-1445 GMT +1: (1445 - 1545 Davos)
Satellite: Eutelsat W2 TXP B6 Channel C
Downlink freq: 11144.830 V
RSVP:

Please RSVP by contacting Alexandra Westberg on +44 (0) 20 7554 1422 or at awestberg@gavinanderson.co.uk

Contact Information