Bombardier Transportation
TSX : BBD.B
TSX : BBD.A
OTCQX : BDRBF

Bombardier Transportation

June 30, 2015 05:45 ET

Long-Distance ICx Train Receives Red Dot Design Award

BERLIN, GERMANY--(Marketwired - June 30, 2015) -

Editors note: There is one photo associated with this press release.

The exterior design of Deutsche Bahn's new ICx long-distance train has been distinguished with the much sought after Red Dot Design Award. The Bombardier design team developed the winning exterior design in close cooperation with designers from Deutsche Bahn and Siemens. The front carriage section is especially eye-catching and convincingly combines functionality and aesthetics. Overall, the design concept has also lead to significantly improved aerodynamics.

"The team intensively discussed the vehicle-specific requirements for this new design concept", explains Michael Sohn, the Head of Industrial Design at Bombardier. "Our experienced team has masterfully overcome the challenge of integrating the new vehicles into the design of the existing DB long-distance fleet. In doing so, great emphasis was placed on how to integrate technical details such as hatches, grooves and air grilles", adds Sohn.

"Here we see continuity and innovation complement each other in an ideal manner", says Karsten Henze, Head of the CI/CD and Creation department at DB AG. "This design is a future-oriented expression of the dynamics, safety and reliability of the ICE brand."

In 2011, DB finalised a framework agreement with Siemens for up to 300 trains. Bombardier is developing and delivering important components to Siemens for the ICx and, amongst other areas, was primarily responsible for the exterior design.

The Red Dot Design Award is an internationally renowned award for design, which is awarded by an international jury to works which have outstanding design quality. The award-winning works are put on display in the Red Dot Design Museum in Essen for a year.

About Bombardier Transportation

Bombardier Transportation, a global leader in rail technology, offers the broadest portfolio in the rail industry and delivers innovative products and services that set new standards in sustainable mobility. BOMBARDIER ECO4 technologies - built on the four cornerstones of energy, efficiency, economy, and ecology - conserve energy, protect the environment, and help to improve total train performance for operators and passengers. Bombardier Transportation is headquartered in Berlin, Germany, and has a very diverse customer base with products or services in more than 60 countries. It has an installed base of over 100,000 vehicles worldwide.

About Bombardier

Bombardier is the world's leading manufacturer of both planes and trains. Looking far ahead while delivering today, Bombardier is evolving mobility worldwide by answering the call for more efficient, sustainable and enjoyable transportation everywhere. Our vehicles, services and, most of all, our employees are what make us a global leader in transportation.

Bombardier is headquartered in Montréal, Canada. Our shares are traded on the Toronto Stock Exchange (BBD) and we are listed on the Dow Jones Sustainability World and North America Indices. In the fiscal year ended December 31, 2014, we posted revenues of $20.1 billion. News and information are available at bombardier.com or follow us on Twitter @Bombardier.

Note to Editors

For news releases, related material and photos, visit our media centre at www.bombardier.com/en/media-centre.html. Follow Bombardier Transportation on Twitter @BombardierRail. To receive our press releases, please visit the RSS Feed section

BOMBARDIER, ECO 4 and The Evolution of Mobility are trademarks of Bombardier Inc. or its subsidiaries. www.bombardier.com/en/media-centre.html.

To view the photo associated with this press release, please visit the following link: http://www.marketwire.com/library/20150630-1014551_IMAGE_800.jpg.

FOR INFORMATION

Australia and New Zealand: +61 3 9794 2111

Loulou Hammad, loulou.hammad@au.transport.bombardier.com

Austria: +43 1 2511 0760

Karin Schwarz, karin.schwarz@at.transport.bombardier.com

Benelux: +49 30 98607 1687

Janet Olthof, janet.olthof@de.transport.bombardier.com

Brazil: +55 11 3538 4794

Ana Caiasso, ana.caiasso@br.transport.bombardier.com

Canada: +1 450 441 3007

Marc-André Lefebvre, marc-andre.lefebvre@ca.transport.bombardier.com

China: +86 10 8517 2268

Flora Long, flora.long@cn.transport.bombardier.com

France and North Africa: +33 6 07 78 95 38

Anne Froger, anne.froger@fr.transport.bombardier.com

Germany, Switzerland, Central and Eastern Europe and Israel: +49 30 98607 1134

Immo von Fallois, immo.von_fallois@de.transport.bombardier.com

India and Japan: +91 7 838 660 093

Harsh Mehta, harsh.mehta@in.transport.bombardier.com

Italy: +39 34 6504 5310

Paola Biondi, paola.biondi@it.transport.bombardier.com

Mexico: +52 55 5093 7714

Paulina Ortega, paulina.ortega@mx.transport.bombardier.com

Middle East: +44 1332 266031

Emma Brett, emma.brett@uk.transport.bombardier.com

Nordic and Baltic Countries: +46 10 852 5213

Pär Isaksson, paer.isaksson@se.transport.bombardier.com

Poland, Eastern Europe and CIS: +48 22 596 51 22

Maciej Kaczanowski, maciej.kaczanowski@pl.transport.bombardier.com

South East Asia: +65 6478 6235

Evon Lam, evon.lam@sg.transport.bombardier.com

Southern Africa: +33 4801 4617

Sandy Roth, sandy.roth@fr.transport.bombardier.com

United Kingdom: +44 1332 251 238

James Rollin, james.rollin@uk.transport.bombardier.com

USA: +1 450 441 3007

Maryanne Roberts, maryanne.roberts@us.transport.bombardier.com

Contact Information