SOURCE: Atlantic Records

December 05, 2007 11:48 ET

Louis XIV Gets the Show on the Road With New Album; "SLICK DOGS AND PONIES" Marks Major Leap Forward for San Diego-Based Rock 'n' Roll Outfit; Cross-Country Tour Alongside Editors and Hot Hot Heat Slated to Kick Off in Early January; Album Arrives Across All Formats on January 29th

NEW YORK, NY--(Marketwire - December 5, 2007) - Pineapple/Atlantic recording group Louis XIV has announced details of their eagerly awaited second album, entitled "SLICK DOGS AND PONIES." The album -- which features the #1 Specialty Charts hit, "Guilt By Association" -- arrives online and in stores on January 29th.

The San Diego-based rock 'n' roll band will introduce fans to their new material via a series of upcoming concert dates, including a much-anticipated North American tour alongside Editors and Hot Hot Heat. The schedule kicks off on January 8th at Ft. Lauderdale, Florida's Culture Room and then traverses the nation through a Valentine's Day finale at Las Vegas' House of Blues on February 14th (see below itinerary).

In addition, Louis XIV -- who just returned from a sold-out Australian tour with their longtime friends, The Killers -- plan to wrap up 2007 with a pair of homestate holiday radio concerts: FM 94/9's "Holiday Hootenanny" at University of California San Diego's Rimac Arena on December 15th and KWOD 106.5's "It's A Very Indie Blog X-Mas" extravaganza at Sacramento's The Empire on December 16th.

Bigger, bolder, and more ambitious than its breakthrough 2005 predecessor, "THE BEST LITTLE SECRETS ARE KEPT," "SLICK DOGS AND PONIES" sees Louis XIV bravely setting forth towards new sonic terrain. Like all Louis XIV music, the band's own Jason Hill serves as producer and engineer, echoing the DIY-ethic of this very independent minded group of musicians. String-laden tracks such as "Guilt By Association" and the epic "Air Traffic Control" display extraordinary growth and evolution while also staying true to the band's innovative take on modern music.

"We invented a sound," frontman Jason Hill boldly states. "It's definitely unlike anything you hear in current music."

"SLICK DOGS AND PONIES" follows Louis XIV's recent digital-only EP, "THE DISTANCES FROM EVERYONE TO YOU." The four-song release featured three brand-new Louis XIV originals (including the album track, "There's A Traitor In This Room"), plus a glamtastic cover of Queen's classic, "Flash's Theme" (featured on the Sci-Fi Channel original series, "Flash Gordon").

Louis XIV exploded out of the box in 2004, winning over fans and critics around the globe with their modern take on classic glammed-up rock 'n' roll. The following year, the "ILLEGAL TENDER" EP -- self-released on their own Pineapple Recording Group label -- spawned a bonafide alternative radio blockbuster in "Finding Out True Love Is Blind."

"THE BEST LITTLE SECRETS ARE KEPT" arrived on Atlantic in March '05, trailed by a veritable tsunami of critical acclaim. Rolling Stone named Louis XIV one of their "10 Artists To Watch in 2005," while Entertainment Weekly included them on their shortlist of "8 Hot Bands." Esquire listed "THE BEST LITTLE SECRETS ARE KEPT" as one of "Four Records To Get You Ahead of the Game," with further rave reviews running in such national publications as the New York Times, Blender, the Los Angeles Times, and the New York Post.

In addition, the band made a series of exciting network television performances, with live spots on ABC's "Jimmy Kimmel Live," and NBC's "Late Night with Conan O'Brien" and "Last Call with Carson Daly."

Louis XIV spent much of 2005 and 2006 on the road, knocking out audiences in North America, Europe, and Asia as headliners, festival show-stealers, and special guests to such like-minded outfits as Hot Hot Heat and The Killers. The band capped off its endless tour in mid-2006 by sharing the stage with David Bowie and Alicia Keys at the Keep A Child Alive Foundation's annual "Black Ball" fundraising concert at New York City's Hammerstein Ballroom.

Louis XIV is: Jason Hill -- producer, vocals, guitars, piano * Brian Karscig -- guitars, vocals, piano * Mark Maigaard -- drums * James Armbrust -- bass.

For additional information, please visit and

On Tour 2007/2008
All Dates w/Editors & Hot Hot Heat Except *

15  San Diego, CA           UCSD - Rimac Arena *
16  Sacramento, CA          The Empire *
8   Ft. Lauderdale, FL      Culture Room
9   St. Petersburg, FL      Jannus Landing
10  Lake Buena Vista, FL    House of Blues
11  Atlanta, GA             The Roxy
12  Nashville, TN           Wildhorse
14  Norfolk, VA             The Norva
15  Washington, DC          9:30 Club
17  New York, NY            Terminal 5
18  Philadelphia, PA        Electric Factory
19  Boston, MA              Orpheum Theatre
20  Montreal, QUE           Club Soda
22  Toronto, ONT            Koolhaus
23  Columbus, OH            Newport Music Hall
25  Chicago, IL             Vic Theatre
26  Detroit, MI             Majestic Theatre
27  Milwaukee, WI           Pabst Theater
29  Madison, WI             Majestic Theatre
30  Minneapolis, MN         Fine Line Music Café
1   Denver, CO              Ogden Theatre
4   Seattle, WA             Showbox At The Market
5   Vancouver, BC           Commodore Ballroom
6   Portland, OR            Roseland Theater
8   San Francisco, CA       Warfield Theatre
9   Los Angeles, CA         The Wiltern
10  Anaheim, CA             House of Blues
13  San Diego, CA           House of Blues
14  Las Vegas, NV           House of Blues

Contact Information