SOURCE: lynda.com

lynda.com

August 13, 2012 09:06 ET

lynda.com Webinar to Detail the Impact That Video Has on Learning

CARPINTERIA, CA--(Marketwire - Aug 13, 2012) -  

WHO:
Laurie Burruss, education consultant for lynda.com, the award-winning online learning company

WHAT:
Will present a complimentary webinar, "Online Learning: How Video Changes and Enhances the Way We Learn."

WHEN:
The webinar will be held twice on Thursday, August 16, 2012.
The first session will take place at 10:00 a.m. EDT / 9:00 a.m. CDT / 8:00 a.m. MDT /7:00 a.m. PDT.

The second session will be held at 2:00 p.m. EDT / 1:00 p.m. CDT / 12:00 p.m. MDT /11:00 a.m. PDT

WHERE:
Registration and details for the 10:00 a.m. EDT session are available at: http://pages.lynda.com/webinar-registration-laurie-burruss-online-learning-august-2012-east.html

Registration and details for the 2:00 p.m. EDT session are available at: http://pages.lynda.com/webinar-registration-laurie-burruss-online-learning-august-2012-west.html

DETAILS:
Over the last three decades, education has moved beyond the four walls of the classroom to the infinite possibilities of the internet. As a result, training resources that use rich media are widely available: on YouTube and Vimeo, through open education resources and lecture capture inside LMS, and via third-party content-rich media libraries. As such resources become fully integrated into the learning space, organizations must recognize which video resources work best to effectively train and educate their employees.

During this complimentary webinar, Laurie Burruss, education consultant for lynda.com, will discuss how online video can be used as a powerful tool for engaging learners, while changing and enhancing the way they learn. She will also explain how a great online video addresses the "why" of each lesson, present the big picture of the subject matter and support it with granular details and steps.

Attendees of this session will also learn about additional factors that impact the effectiveness of video-based learning -- including availability of transcripts and closed-captioning, playback controls and real-time access -- as well as the benefits of simplicity, personalization and customization, and learning in a private environment.

As education consultant at lynda.com, Laurie Burruss supports the company's academic initiatives and evangelizes all things higher education. In addition to her services at lynda.com, she serves as a full professor in interaction design and chair of digital media at Pasadena City College, where she has acted as a regional resource for the state of California during the past 19 years in an effort to further collaboration between education, industry and the community.

"Online Learning: How Video Changes and Enhances the Way We Learn" is designed for professionals in learning and development, human resources and training, talent management and anyone responsible for improving performance within an organization who wish to learn how online video can be used to extend teaching methodologies and engage the learner.

About lynda.com
lynda.com is an online learning company that helps anyone learn software, creative, and business skills to achieve their personal and professional goals. With a lynda.com subscription, members receive unlimited access to a vast library of high quality, current, and engaging video tutorials. New courses and topics are added every week at no extra cost. We carefully select the world's top experts who are the best in their field, passionate about their subject matter, and know how to teach. Members tell us that a lynda.com subscription instills self-confidence and unlocks a sense of accomplishment that they have not found anywhere else. With over one million individual, corporate, academic, and government members, lynda.com was recently ranked the 13th fastest-growing, privately-held education company in the U.S. by Inc. magazine.

+44 (0) 207 917 1832
Jeanne@devonpr.com