SOURCE: Maricopa Integrated Health System

Maricopa Integrated Health System

September 10, 2012 16:09 ET

Maricopa Integrated Health System Receives Recognitions From National Committee for Quality Assurance

PHOENIX, AZ--(Marketwire - Sep 10, 2012) - Nine additional sites, part of Maricopa Integrated Health System's wide-network of health care services across Maricopa County, have each earned National Committee for Quality Assurance (NCQA) Recognitions. 

Each site received Level 3 NCQA Recognition as Patient-Centered Medical Homes (PCMH) -- the highest PCMH designation that can be received through the organization. In order to receive this recognition, patient centered medical homes must achieve nine NCQA standards, including care management, patient self-management and support, and advanced electronic communication. 

The three-year NCQA certification demonstrates Maricopa Integrated Health Care System's ongoing commitment to strengthening our relationship between patients and their personal clinicians. The patient centered medical home is a model of care that is emerging as an important delivery model in health care reform. 

The nine Maricopa Integrated Health System facilities that have received NCQA Recognitions include:

  • Avondale FHC
  • Maryvale FHC
  • South Central FHC
  • Sunnyslope FHC
  • Mesa FHC
  • 7th Avenue FHC
  • Glendale FHC
  • CHC Pediatrics
  • CHC Internal Medicine

Previously recognized sites include:

  • Chandler FHC
  • El Mirage FHC
  • Guadalupe FHC

The NCQA Patient-Centered Medical Home program reflects the input of the American College of Physicians (ACP), American Academy of Family Physicians (AAFP), American Academy of Pediatrics (AAP), and American Osteopathic Association (AOA) and others in extension of the Physician Practice Connections Program. 

Since its founding in 1990, the NCQA has been a central figure in driving improvement throughout the health care system, helping to elevate the issue of health care quality to the top of the national agenda. 

About the NCQA: The National Committee for Quality Assurance is a private, 501(c) (3) not-for-profit organization dedicated to improving health care quality. NCQA accredits and certifies a wide range of health care organizations. It also recognizes clinicians and practices in key areas of performance. NCQA is committed to providing health care quality information for consumers, purchasers, health care providers and researchers. For more information related to this press release, please contact

About Maricopa Integrated Health System:  Maricopa Integrated Health System (MIHS) is the public health care system for the State of Arizona. MIHS includes Maricopa Medical Center, the Arizona Burn Center, the Arizona Children's Center, the Arizona Cancer Center, and eleven Family Health Centers located throughout Maricopa County. MIHS also includes two behavioral health centers and an attendant care program. For more information, please visit

Contact Information

  • Media Contact:
    Judy Keane
    (602) 568-7256