SOURCE: Reprise Records

Reprise Records

September 26, 2011 09:00 ET

Mastodon Gear Up for September 27th Release of New Album The Hunter With Series of Release-Week Events

All CD Formats to Feature Augmented Reality Experience by Total Immersion, Plus Other Exclusive Content; Limited Edition Standard and Deluxe Vinyl Editions Street on November 15th; Watch Official Video for "Curl Of The Burl" on YouTube Now; New Merch Available at; Tickets for All Tour Dates on Sale Today, Including Special December 2nd "Missing Link" Atlanta Show

BURBANK, CA--(Marketwire - Sep 26, 2011) - MASTODON are gearing up for the release of their anticipated new album The Hunter this Tuesday, Sep 27th with a series of events taking place in the coming days. The Hunter is being released by Reprise Records in various formats (listed below). All editions of The Hunter will feature a very cool "Augmented Reality Experience" developed by Total Immersion that contains content over all formats of the release: Standard CD, Deluxe CD/DVD and the Direct to Consumer CD/DVD package. Click here to view a brief snapshot of the "Augmented Reality Experience."

Album release-week festivities begin today as Mastodon will be featured in a live guest appearance on nationally syndicated radio chat show Rockline, hosted by Bob Coburn, which takes place from 8:30 pm to 10 pm PT/11:30 pm to 1 am ET. Fans can call 1-800-344-ROCK (7625) to speak to the band during the show. Visit for a list of station affiliates and streaming information.

On Tuesday the 27th, Mastodon will be in their hometown of Atlanta for a special LIVE webchat with fans from 5:30pm EDT to 6:00pm EDT. Get your copy of the album that day and fire off your questions to them live. Head over to on that day to check it out.

Immediately following the web chat, the band will sign copies of The Hunter at Atlanta's greatest record store, Criminal Records (1154-A Euclid Ave NE, Atlanta, GA 30307), beginning at 6 pm ET. Pre-order the new album in any format at the store to get a ticket to the event to meet Mastodon. A very limited edition, collectable Mastodon event T-shirt will be available at Criminal Records that day only. Once gone, they're gone for good. Afterward, Mastodon will head across the street to their favorite local restaurant and cantina El Myr for an after-party where they will spin the new album, hang with fans, and enjoy at least one frosty beverage. Naturally, it's only fitting that a special festive elixir has been created just for the occasion. "The Hunter" will flow in vast quantities possibly for this one night only. Mastodon/El Myr Beer Koozies will be available only at this event.

In addition, free listening parties for The Hunter will be held at various points during the week. Visit for all the details. For example, if you live in Los Angeles, make your way over to The Roxy on Sunset Blvd tonight, Sep 26th, at 8 p.m.

Got Merch? Mastodon has a completely new line of merchandise available via its website now. Go to: to check out the dazzling "Hunter Head" Red T-Shirt, a super cool zip-up drawstring "Hunter" Black Hoodie, and a badass "Trifecta" Black T-Shirt. Much more to come.

Reminders: Check out Mastodon on The Late Show with David Letterman on Wed, Oct 5th, on CBS stations performing the new single, "Curl Of The Burl." View the very creepy new official video for the track here right now! Read about Mastodon who are featured on the current cover of Decibel Magazine and remember, the American tour kicks off Oct 25th, in Austin, TX.

The Hunter by Mastodon:
Track listing:
1) Black Tongue
2) Curl Of The Burl
3) Blasteroid
4) Stargasm
5) Octopus Has No Friends
6) All The Heavy Lifting
7) The Hunter
8) Dry Bone Valley
9) Thickening
10) Creature Lives
11) Spectrelight
12) Bedazzled Fingernails
13) The Sparrow


  • Standard CD
    • 13 Tracks Album
    • Basic augmented reality experience
  • Deluxe Physical: CD/DVD
    • Standard Album (13 tracks) Housed in an exclusive Digipack (alternative cover & expanded artwork)
    • Bonus DVD: includes Making Of The Hunter, Track By Track Commentary, Stargasm Visualizer, Black Tongue and Deathbound Videos.
    • Enhanced augmented reality experience
  • Direct to Consumer Package (13 tracks on CD, 2 digitally delivered)
    • Standard Album (13 tracks) Housed in an exclusive Digipack (alternative cover & expanded artwork)
    • Bonus DVD: includes Making Of The Hunter, Track By Track Commentary, Stargasm Visualizer, Black Tongue and Deathbound Videos
    • Basic and Extended augmented reality experience w/ special insert that unlocks "Stargasm Alt Vocal" visualizer and song, not available anywhere else
    • Lenticular poster of Standard album cover - 20"x30"
    • 2 extra tracks digitally delivered on 9/27: The Ruiner (from the Hunter Sessions) & Deathbound (From the Crack The Syke Sessions previously not available)
  • Limited Edition Standard vinyl: 1 LP, 140 gram, black vinyl (11/15 street date)
  • Limited Edition Deluxe vinyl: 2 LP, 45rpm, 180 gram, color vinyl (11/15 street date)
  • Standard digital album (13 tracks)
  • Deluxe digital album (2 extra tracks: The Ruiner & Deathbound)

Late breaking news: Tickets for all Mastodon tour dates on sale starting today. Click here for all details. Also, we can finally announce the special "Missing Link" hometown Atlanta show set for Friday, Dec 2nd at the Tabernacle. This is the final show of the tour with a very special line-up for this night only. This will sell out fast so don't delay.

For addition info/details on the above plus merch and more, click here. Plenty of additional news to be announced soon.

Contact Information