Canada's Sports Hall of Fame

Canada's Sports Hall of Fame

October 06, 2005 15:48 ET

Media Accreditation for Canada's Sports Hall of Fame Induction

Photo Opportunities/ Media Accreditation for Canada's Sports Hall of Fame Induction Attention: News Editor, Sports Editor TORONTO/ ONTARIO--(CCNMatthews - Oct. 6, 2005) - Canada's Sports Hall of Fame is preparing for media opportunities in conjunction with its 50th Anniversary Induction Dinner. Baseball executive Paul Beeston, journalist George Gross, cyclists Steve Bauer and Curt Harnett, speed skater Catriona Le May Doan, former Montreal Expo pitcher Claude Raymond and Team Canada '72, winners of the classic Summit Series vs. the Soviet Union, will be formally recognized at the Induction Gala on Wednesday, November 2, 2005 at the Fairmont Royal York in Toronto.

The Tom Cheek Media Leadership Award and the Dr. Tom Pashby Sports Safety Award will also be presented at the Dinner.

Accreditation Process
Credentials will be required for this event, so media are asked to request credentials in advance by email to: Please include the name of journalist, and the media organization represented, along with contact information.

If you will have special requirements, please contact: Sheryn Posen, at 416-260-6789.

Due to space limitations, ENG cameras positions at the gala dinner will be restricted to one camera/broadcasting family.

Media Facilities
3:00 p.m. Media Accreditation desk opens - outside the Territories Room

5:30 - 10:00 p.m. Media Room open, Toronto Room
Staffed with volunteers throughout the dinner
Sequence of Events
3:30 - 4:45 p.m. Press Conference, Territories Room, Fairmont Royal York Hotel
All 6 Individual inductees and 1 representative of Team Canada will participate
in the formal press conference followed by individual opportunities for interviews

4:45 - 6:45 p.m. Receptions - open to media

7:00 - 10:15 p.m. Gala Dinner

7:00 p.m. Entry of 2005 Inductees (Pipes)

7:15 p.m. Presentation of Dr. Tom Pashby Sports Safety Award to Dr. Karen Johnston

7:20 p.m. Presentation of Tom Cheek Media Leadership Award

7:25 p.m. Dinner

8:20 p.m. Honoured Members Introduction and Group Photo

8:35 p.m. Induction Ceremonies:
* Steve Bauer
* Paul Beeston
* Catriona Le May Doan
* George Gross
* Curt Harnett
* Claude Raymond
* Team Canada 1972

10:15 p.m. Post Dinner Reception

Induction Procedures:
Master of Ceremonies Brian Williams will introduce each inductee followed by a video vignette. The inductee will then be called to the platform and presented with the Canada's Sports Hall of Fame blazer and special gift. The inductee will follow with his/her acceptance speech.

Members of Team Canada 1972 will be inducted in groups of three at a time. Rod Seiling will speak on behalf of Team Canada 1972.

Accreditation Requests:


Contact Information

  • Sheryn Posen, Chief Operating Officer
    Primary Phone: 416-260-6789
    Secondary Phone: 416-720-1084