Ottawa Senators Hockey Club

Ottawa Senators Hockey Club
Bell Capital Cup

Bell Capital Cup

December 31, 2006 16:06 ET

Media Advisory: 2007 Bell Capital Cup Events For Monday, Jan. 1

Guinness world record breaking Bell Capital Cup crowns champions

OTTAWA, ONTARIO--(CCNMatthews - Dec. 31, 2006) - The eighth annual Bell Capital Cup, the world's premier atom and peewee hockey tournament, continues with the final four championship games on Monday, Jan. 1.

The 510 participating teams will by vying for the Allen J. MacDonald Memorial Trophy as tournament champion. The tournament welcomes teams from all over the globe, including 90 teams from the United States, as well as teams from the Czech Republic, China, Finland, France and Russia. With the assistance of the Ottawa Celebrity Sports Dinner, a team from Torino, Italy is the newest country to participate.

Seven division champions were crowned on Saturday, Dec. 30:

Girls atom AA - Gloucester-Cumberland Stars

Girls peewee AA - Detroit Little Caesars

Boys atom house C - Lucy's Seafood Kitchen (Meadowvale)

Boys major peewee AAA - Gloucester Rangers

Boys minor atom AA - Florida Jr. Panthers

Boys Quebec atome BB - Voiliers d'Aylmer

Boys Quebec peewee BB - Les Mariniers d'Aylmer

Ten champions will be crowned on Sunday, Dec. 31 in the following divisions: Boys atom major AA, Boys peewee minor AA, Boys peewee minor AAA, Boys peewee major AAA, Boys atom major AAA, Boys atom minor AAA, Boys peewee major A, Boys atom major A, Boys atom minor A and Boys peewee minor A.

For more information on the Bell Capital Cup, including updated schedules, statistics and results, visit

Moscow North Stars become first European team to win Bell Capital Cup championship

The Moscow North Stars faced adversity, but were victorious in the end. After having their equipment lost on the way to Ottawa this week, the North Stars rebounded to become the first European team in the history of the Bell Capital Cup to win a championship. Moscow defeated the Vaughan Rangers 3-1 at Scotiabank Place on Sunday morning to win the Boys peewee minor AA division.

Bill Patterson Trophy winners

The Bill Patterson Trophy is awarded to the two teams (one house league team and one competitive league team) that demonstrate fair play and sportsmanship by recording the fewest penalty minutes during round robin tournament. The trophy is awarded in memory of Bill Patterson who passed away September 22, 1999 of a heart attack. Bill Patterson was a well-respected member of our community. A sportscaster for CJOH TV, Bill was an active family man and is survived by his wife Pat and daughters Sherri, Meghan and Sarah. His true love was watching and reporting on young athletes and he was Ottawa's number one booster of amateur sports.

The 2007 recipients of the Bill Patterson Trophy are:

Orleans Blues - minor peewee A (coach - Serge Tremblay)

West End Kung Fu Chickens - peewee house A (coach - Michael Donald)

Hockey School Scholarships

The Jacques Martin Hockey School and Bell Sensplex Scholarships are presented to one player from each of the teams that win the Bill Patterson Trophy, which this year are the Orleans Blues (minor peewee A) and the West End Kung Fu Chickens (peewee house A). Players that demonstrate hard work, fair play and good sportsmanship, as selected with by their coaches will have an opportunity to attend one of the schools, which are located in Rigaud, Que. and Kanata, Ont. The two winning players will spend a week at the site and will receive the very best in on-ice instruction from the Bell Sensplex hockey instructors and former Ottawa Senators coach Jacques Martin and his staff. They will also engage in other sports such as swimming, basketball and soccer during the week.

Tournament events for Monday, Jan. 1, 2007

Rogers Television Broadcasts

Rogers Television 22 will broadcast six of the championship games across Ontario, with three being televised on Jan. 1.

Boys minor peewee AAA - Game broadcast on Rogers Television on Jan. 1 at 10 a.m.

Boys major atom AAA - Game broadcast on Rogers Television on Jan. 1 at 11:30 a.m.

Boys minor atom AAA - Game broadcast on Rogers Television on Jan. 1 at 1 p.m.

Please check local listings for confirmation of game times.

Allen J. MacDonald Championship Trophy

Monday, Jan. 1, 2007 - After each championship game at Scotiabank Place

The Bell Capital Cup is awarded to the victorious team in each division at the end of the tournament. This trophy receives its name from our generous title sponsor, Bell Canada. The trophy symbolizes the teamwork, dedication and effort required for success. Each winning team will receive a miniature version of the Bell Capital Cup to take home, a championship banner for display in their home arena and individual Bell Capital Cups for all players on the team. Players from winning teams will also receive a Bell Capital Cup championship hockey bag to take home as a souvenir of their game and victory.

Bruce M. Firestone Award

Monday, Jan. 1, 2006 - After each championship game at Scotiabank Place

This award is presented to the finalists in each division on championship Sunday. Each of the finalists will receive a take home trophy and a silver miniature version of the Bell Capital Cup for all players on the team. Bruce M. Firestone was the original founder of the modern day Ottawa Senators of the NHL. Dr. Firestone resides in Ottawa and takes an active interest in minor hockey including regular attendance at the Bell Capital Cup. The trophy that bears his name is emblematic of hard work and a "won't back down" spirit.

Contact Information

  • Brian Morris, 613-599-0289
    Aaron Robinson, 613-599-0161