Ottawa Senators Hockey Club

Ottawa Senators Hockey Club
Bell Capital Cup

Bell Capital Cup

January 01, 2007 19:45 ET

Media Advisory: 2007 Bell Capital Cup Skates Into History with Record Setting Event

OTTAWA, ONTARIO--(CCNMatthews - Jan. 1, 2007) - The eighth annual Bell Capital Cup, the world's premier atom and peewee hockey tournament, came to a successful conclusion earlier today with the final four championship games played at Scotiabank Place. The tournament has unofficially established new standards for Guinness World Records in two categories; most teams competing in a hockey tournament at 510 and most players competing in a hockey tournament at 8,670. The tournament showcased participating teams from all over the globe, including more than 90 teams from the United States, as well as teams from the Czech Republic, China, Finland, France, Italy and Russia.

The Bell Capital Cup Allen J. MacDonald Championship Trophy is awarded to the victorious team in each division at the end of the tournament. The trophy symbolizes the teamwork, dedication and effort required for success. Each winning team receives a miniature version of the Bell Capital Cup to take home, a championship banner for display in their home arena and individual Bell Capital Cups for all players on the team. Players from winning teams also received a Bell Capital Cup championship hockey bag as a souvenir of their game and victory. There were 21 teams crowned Champions in their respective categories and awarded the Allen J. MacDonald Championship Trophy. Results from the 21 Final Games were as follows:

Girls Atom AA - Gloucester-Cumberland Stars 5, Burlington Barracudas 3

Girls Peewee AA - Detroit Little Caesars 4, Bluewater Sharks 3

Boys Atom House C - Lucy's Seafood Kitchen (Meadowvale) 4 Almonte-Pakenham Thunder 1

Boys Major Peewee AAA - Gloucester Rangers 4, Moscow Dinamo 3

Boys Minor Atom AA - Florida Jr. Panthers 5, London Jr. Knights 2

Boys Quebec Atome BB - Voiliers d'Aylmer 2, Voisins de Papineau 1

Boys Quebec Peewee BB - Les Mariniers d'Aylmer 4, Voisins de Papineau 0

Boys Atom Major AA - Sault Ste. Marie Reps 3, Burnaby Winter Bruins 1

Boys PeeWee Minor AA - Severnaya Zvezda (Moscow North Stars) 3, Vaughan Rangers 1

Boys PeeWee Minor AAA - Toronto Red Wings 2, Westchester NY Express 1

Boys PeeWee Major AA - Toronto East Enders Ticats 5, Langley BC Eagles 2

Boys Atom Major AAA - Tampa Bay Lightning 5, Halton Hurricanes 1

Boys Atom Minor AAA - Syracuse Stars 3, North York Rangers 1

Boys PeeWee Major A - Richmond Hill Stars 2, Charleston Wolverines 1

Boys Atom Major A - Capital Crusaders 5, Goulbourn Rams 1

Boys Atom Minor A - Atlanta Fire 2, Kanata (Blue) Blazers 0

Boys PeeWee Minor A - Osgoode-Rideau Senators 2, Gloucester Rangers 1

Boys Atom Major B - Ganaoque Islanders 3, Muskrat Voyageurs 1

Boys PeeWee House A - Iqaluit Blizzard 2, Cumberland Arctic Wolves 1 20T

Boys Atom House B - China Haosha 5, Beijing Cubs 0

Boys Atom House A - Beijing Cubs 6, Ottawa Southend Snipers 1

There were many great individual peformances during the over 900 games over the tournament. The following players led their division in scoring during round robin play:

Boys PeeWee Major AAA - Leonid Ovechkin (Moscow Silver Sharks)

Boys PeeWee Major AA - Austin Plevy (Langley Eagles)

Boys PeeWee Major A - Julian Dipaolo (Charleston Wolverines)

Boys PeeWee Minor AAA - Adam Erne (Westchester Express)

Boys PeeWee Minor AA - Brandon Seatter (Ottawa Sting)

Boys PeeWee Minor A - Aaron Thow (Leaside Flames)

Boys PeeWee House A - Tanner Faith (Iqaluit Blizzard)

Boys Atom Major AAA - Nate Sucese (Rochester Americans)

Boys Atom Major AA - Blake Speers (Sault Ste. Marie Reps)

Boys Atom Major A - Christian Cotroneo (Osgoode Rideau Senators)

Boys Atom Major B - Chris Clarkson (Goulbourn Rams)

Boys Atom Minor AAA - Justin Miller (Syracuse Stars)

Boys Atom Minor AA - Jacob Watkins (London Jr. Knights)

Boys Atom Minor A - Samantha Cogan (Ottawa West Golden Knights)

Boys Atom House A - Rudi Ying (Beijing Cubs)

Boys Atom House B - Mitchell Tilley (Iqaluit Blizzard)

Boys Atom House C - Ryan Blake (Lucys Seafood Kitchen - Meadowvale)

Boys Quebec Atome BB - Alexandre Mongeon-Theriault (Voyageurs de Papineau)

Boys Quebec Peewee BB - Vincent Dunn Cholette (Olympiques de Hull)

Girls Atom AA - Stephanie Wilson (Cumberland Stars)

Girls PeeWee AA - Cayley Mercer (Bluewater Hawks)

For complete information on the Bell Capital Cup, including final statistics and results, visit

Bill Patterson Trophy winners

The Bill Patterson Trophy is awarded to the two teams (one house league team and one competitive league team) that demonstrate fair play and sportsmanship by recording the fewest penalty minutes during round robin tournament. The trophy is awarded in memory of Bill Patterson who passed away September 22, 1999 of a heart attack. Bill Patterson was a well-respected member of our community. A sportscaster for CJOH TV, Bill was an active family man and is survived by his wife Pat and daughters Sherri, Meghan and Sarah. His true love was watching and reporting on young athletes and he was Ottawa's number one booster of amateur sports.

The 2007 recipients of the Bill Paterson Trophy are:

Orleans Blues - minor peewee A (coach - Serge Tremblay)

West End Kung Fu Chickens - peewee house A (coach - Michael Donald)

Hockey School Scholarships

The Jacques Martin Hockey School and Bell Sensplex Scholarships are presented to one player from each of the teams that win the Bill Patterson Trophy, which this year are the Orleans Blues (minor peewee A) and the West End Kung Fu Chickens (peewee house A). Players that demonstrate hard work, fair play and good sportsmanship, as selected with by their coaches will have an opportunity to attend one of the schools, which are located in Rigaud, Que. and Kanata, Ont. The two winning players will spend a week at the site and will receive the very best in on-ice instruction from the Bell Sensplex hockey instructors and former Ottawa Senators coach Jacques Martin and his staff. They will also engage in other sports such as swimming, basketball and soccer during the week.

Other Event Facts and Figures

Number of participating teams - 510

Number of Tournament Games Played - 919

Friendly (exhibition) Games Played - 88

Number of All Star Games - 35

Number of Skills Competitions - 38 (All 8,670 Players participated)

Estimated Economic Impact from this year's event - +$12 million

Estimate of Money Raised for charity and minor hockey this year - $200,000

8 Year Total of Money Raised for Charity and Minor Hockey - $1.15 million

Contact Information

  • Brian Morris, 613-599-0289
    Aaron Robinson, 613-599-0161