Bell Capital Cup

Bell Capital Cup

December 31, 2012 07:30 ET

Media Advisory: 2013 Bell Capital Cup Events for Monday, Dec. 31

Close to 400 minor hockey teams taking part in Ottawa holiday tradition

OTTAWA, ONTARIO--(Marketwire - Dec. 31, 2012) - The 14th annual Bell Capital Cup, the world's premier atom and peewee hockey tournament, continues with games and events on Monday, Dec. 31.

The 2013 edition of the Bell Capital Cup, which runs through Tuesday, Jan. 1, includes 19 divisions, 380 teams and more than 6,500 players vying for the Allen J. MacDonald Memorial Trophy. This year's field is comprised of teams from five different countries, including Canada (three provinces and one territory), China (Hong Kong), Finland, Germany and the United States (with representation from nine individual states).

Five division champions were crowned on Sunday, Dec. 30:

Atom Girls AA - Oakville Hornets

Peewee Girls AA - Nepean Wildcats

Major Peewee AAA - Ottawa Sting

Minor Atom AAA - Barrie Colts

Major Atom AA - Mariniers d'Aylmer

Six champions will be crowned on Monday, Dec. 31, in the following boys' divisions: Minor atom AA, major atom A, major peewee AA, major atom AAA, minor peewee AAA and minor peewee AA.

The remaining eight champions will be crowned on Tuesday, Jan. 1, in the following boys' divisions: Minor atom A, major peewee A, minor peewee A, peewee house A, major atom B, atom house A, atom house B and atom house C.

The 2013 Bell Capital Cup championship games can be viewed live online from Scotiabank Place by logging on to

Tournament events for Monday, Dec. 31

Ottawa 67's vs. Kingston Frontenacs - 2 p.m. Scotiabank Place

Tournament participants, family members, volunteers and tournament officials will be in attendance as the Ottawa 67's host OHL action at Scotiabank Place.

Allen J. MacDonald Memorial Trophy

Monday, Dec. 31 and Tuesday, Jan. 1

After each championship game - Scotiabank Place

The Allen J. MacDonald Memorial Trophy is awarded to the victorious team in each division. The four-foot trophy is named in honour of Allen J. MacDonald, a friend, colleague and passionate member of the minor hockey community, who was a great contributor to the Bell Capital Cup. Each winning team will take home a replica trophy and a championship banner for display in its home arena. Each player will receive a gold miniature championship trophy and a Bell Capital Cup Nike shirt.

Bruce M. Firestone Award

Monday, Dec. 31 and Tuesday, Jan. 1

After each championship game - Scotiabank Place

The Bruce M. Firestone Award, emblematic of perseverance, hard work and a won't-back-down spirit, is awarded to the finalists in each division. Each team will receive a silver miniature trophy for all players on the team. Firestone is a founder of the modern-day Ottawa Senators. A resident of the nation's capital, he takes an active interest in minor hockey, including regular attendance at the Bell Capital Cup.

For more information on the Bell Capital Cup, including updated schedules, statistics and results, visit

Contact Information