Bell Capital Cup

Bell Capital Cup

December 31, 2013 07:30 ET

Media Advisory: 2014 Bell Capital Cup events for Tuesday, Dec. 31

More than 300 minor hockey teams participating in Ottawa holiday tradition

OTTAWA, ONTARIO--(Marketwired - Dec. 31, 2013) - The 15th annual Bell Capital Cup, the world's premier atom and peewee hockey tournament, continues with games and events on Tuesday, Dec. 31.

The 2014 edition of the Bell Capital Cup, which runs through Wednesday, Jan. 1, includes 19 divisions, 310 teams and more than 5,300 players vying for the Allen J. MacDonald Memorial Trophy. This year's field is comprised of teams from seven different countries, including Austria, Canada (four provinces and one territory), China, Finland, Germany, Japan and the United States (with representation from eight individual states).

For more information on the Bell Capital Cup, including updated schedules, statistics and results, visit

Three division champions were crowned on Monday, Dec. 30:

Girl's atom AA - Ottawa Ice

Girl's peewee AA - Ottawa Ice

Major peewee AAA - Eastern Ontario Wild

Ten (10) champions will be crowned on Tuesday, Dec. 31, in the following boys' divisions: Minor atom A, minor atom AA, minor atom AAA, major atom A, major atom AA, major atom AAA, minor peewee AA, minor peewee AAA, major peewee A and major peewee AA.

The remaining six champions will be crowned on Wednesday, Jan. 1, in the following boys' divisions: Atom house A, atom house B, atom house C, major atom B, peewee house A and minor peewee A.

The 2014 Bell Capital Cup championship games can be viewed live online from Canadian Tire Centre by logging on to

Tournament events for Tuesday, Dec. 31

Bill Patterson Trophy

The Bill Patterson trophy is awarded to the two teams (one house league and one competitive) that best demonstrate fair play and sportsmanship during round-robin play. A sportscaster for CJOH-TV, Patterson died suddenly on Sept. 22, 1999, of a heart attack. An active family man who is survived by his wife, Pat, and daughters Sherri, Meghan and Sarah, Patterson loved watching and reporting on young athletes and was Ottawa's No. 1 booster of amateur sports. Bill's wife, Pat, and his daughter Sarah will be on-hand at noon (12 p.m.) today to award the trophy to the deserving team prior to the major atom AAA championship game at Canadian Tire Centre.

Allen J. MacDonald Memorial Trophy

Tuesday, Dec. 31, and Wednesday, Jan. 1 - Awarded after each championship game at Canadian Tire Centre

The Allen J. MacDonald Memorial Trophy is awarded to the victorious team in each division. The four-foot trophy is named in honour of Allen J. MacDonald, a friend, colleague and passionate member of the minor hockey community, who was a great contributor to the Bell Capital Cup. Each winning team will take home a replica trophy and a championship banner for display in its home arena. Each player will receive a gold miniature championship trophy.

Bruce M. Firestone Award

Tuesday, Dec. 31, and Wednesday, Jan. 1 - Awarded after each championship game at Canadian Tire Centre

The Bruce M. Firestone Award, emblematic of perseverance, hard work and a won't-back-down spirit, is awarded to the finalists in each division. Each team will receive a silver miniature trophy for all players on the team. Firestone is a founder of the modern-day Ottawa Senators. A resident of the nation's capital, he takes an active interest in minor hockey, including regular attendance at the Bell Capital Cup.

Contact Information