Canada Foundation for Innovation

Canada Foundation for Innovation
Canada Research Chairs

Canada Research Chairs

September 07, 2007 19:26 ET

Media Advisory: Canada's New Government Invests in New Canada Research Chairs

CALGARY, ALBERTA--(Marketwire - Sept. 7, 2007) - On Monday, September 10, the Honourable Diane Ablonczy, Secretary of State (Small Business and Tourism), on behalf of the Honourable Jim Prentice, Minister of Industry and Minister responsible for the Canada Research Chairs Program, will announce the latest round of Canada Research Chair appointments.

These prestigious faculty positions at universities across Canada will contribute to developing world-class expertise in many vital areas of research, including health and economy.

This event will highlight the work of Dr. Sarah McFarlane, Canada Research Chair in Developmental Neurobiology at the University of Calgary.

DATE: September 10, 2007

TIME: 10:00 a.m.

PLACE: The University of Calgary
Hotchkiss Brain Institute

Note to editors: The Canada Research Chairs program is designed to attract the best talent from Canada and around the world to help universities achieve research excellence in natural sciences and engineering, health sciences, and social sciences and humanities. Chairholders improve Canadians' depth of knowledge and quality of life, strengthen the country's international competitiveness, and help train the next generation of highly-skilled people. Since the Chairs program was launched in 2000, it has created more than 1,848 research professorships at 70 universities across Canada. Almost one-third of these positions have been filled by researchers recruited from abroad, including over 250 Canadian expatriates. When fully implemented, the program will support 2,000 Chairs across the country.

Contact Information