CPRS Canadian Public Relations Society

CPRS Canadian Public Relations Society

January 29, 2008 07:00 ET

Media Advisory: CEO Award of Excellence in Public Relations to Be Presented to United Way's Frances Lankin

TORONTO, ONTARIO--(Marketwire - Jan. 29, 2008) - The CEO Award of Excellence in Public Relations will be presented to Frances Lankin, President and CEO of United Way of Greater Toronto by the Canadian Public Relations Society (CPRS) on Tuesday, January 29, 2008 at a gala luncheon at the Fairmont Royal York Hotel.

The CPRS (Toronto) CEO Award of Excellence in Public Relations was created in 1991 to celebrate the Chief Executive Officer in the Greater Toronto area who best demonstrates personal excellence in the understanding and implementation of public relations practices.

Past recipients of the CPRS (Toronto) CEO award of excellence include:

- The late Richard Bradshaw, General Director of the Canadian Opera Company
- Michael Budman and Don Green, co-founders of Roots Canada (2005-2006)
- Wayne Sales, President and CEO of Canadian Tire (2004-2005)
- Piers Handling, CEO of the Toronto International Film Festival
- Julian Fantino, Chief of the Toronto Police Force (2002-2003)
- Charles Baillie, Chair, TD Bank Financial Group (2001-2002)
- Dominic D'Alessandro, President and CEO, Manulife Financial (2000-2001)
- Bobbie Gaunt, President and CEO, Ford Motor Company of Canada (1999-2000)
- Diane McGarry, President and CEO, Xerox Canada Inc. (1998-1999)
- Allan Stark, President and CEO, American Express Company Canada
- George Cohon, President and CEO, McDonald's Restaurants of Canada
- John Cassaday, President and CEO, CTV (1995-1996)
- David Bloom, President and CEO, Shoppers Drug Mart (1992-1993)
- Peter H. Ellis, President and CEO, Sunnybrook Medical Centre (1991-1992)

The CPRS (Toronto) award is determined by a selection committee comprised of chair and award founder Dr. Gordon McIvor, APR, FCPRS, and Toronto past presidents, all Accredited Public Relations practitioners, as well as some national past presidents. Members are encouraged to submit nominations.

Established in 1956, United Way of Greater Toronto is a registered charity and community impact organization dedicated to improving lives and strengthening neighbourhoods across Toronto. United Way identifies needs and takes action to create a better, safer, stronger city through research, partnerships and support of a network of 200 health and social service agencies. For more information, please visit www.unitedwaytoronto.org.

CPRS is a national organization representing the public relations profession through the establishment and maintenance of high professional, educational and ethical standards. CPRS (Toronto) is one of the largest member societies comprising more than 600 members. For more information, please visit www.cprstoronto.com.

When: Tuesday, January 29, 2008, 12:00 p.m.

Where: Fairmont Royal York Hotel, Ballroom, 100 Front Street
West, Toronto

Tickets: Members ($55), Non-members ($65), Students ($45)

The CPRS (Toronto) CEO Award of Excellence in Public Relations is generously sponsored by Marketwire, one of Canada's foremost news distribution and communications services companies.

Contact Information

  • For news information: Canada Lands Company
    Dr. Gordon McIvor, APR, FCPRS
    Vice President, Strategic Acquisitions, Public and
    Government Affairs
    (416) 952-6111 (office) or (416) 562-0560 (cell)
    Email: gmcivor@clc.ca
    United Way of Greater Toronto
    Joanna King
    Public Relations Officer
    (416) 777-1444 (386) (office) or (416) 357-4022 (cell)
    Email: jking@uwgt.org
    For event booking information, please contact:
    CPRS (Toronto)
    Lois Marsh
    (416) 360-1988
    Email: marshl@marsh-executive.com