CPRS Toronto

CPRS Toronto

January 21, 2011 09:00 ET

Media Advisory: CPRS Toronto Selects Jim Leech of Ontario Teachers' Pension Plan to Receive 2010-11 CEO Award of Excellence in Public Relations

TORONTO, ONTARIO--(Marketwire - Jan. 21, 2011) - The Canadian Public Relations Society Toronto will present its 18th annual CEO Award of Excellence in Public Relations to celebrate the growing importance that communications plays in Canadian organizations. This year's recipient is Jim Leech, president and chief executive officer of Ontario Teachers' Pension Plan.

During his distinguished career, Mr. Leech became known for his expertise in the private equity industry as a chief executive officer (CEO) of several publicly held companies where he developed a solid reputation for building strong management teams and businesses. Under his leadership, the pension plan's private capital department became one of the world's leading private equity investors. 

Since his appointment as president and CEO, Mr. Leech's priority has been to establish a distinct culture for Teachers' and to recognize that their people are the key to driving their success. Through his leadership, Teachers' engaged in a committed and rigorous proactive communications program to involve the entire organization in establishing a vision for the future. The result of this process has been very positive and earned him the CPRS Toronto CEO Award of Excellence.

Please join us to commemorate this special occasion.
WHEN: Monday, January 24th, 2011, 12 p.m.
WHERE: Fairmont Royal York Hotel, Ballroom
ADDRESS: 100 Front Street West, Toronto


CPRS is a national association representing the public relations profession through the establishment and maintenance of high professional, educational and ethical standards. CPRS Toronto is one of the largest member societies comprising more than 600 members. Visit us today at www.cprstoronto.com.


The CPRS Toronto CEO Award of Excellence in Public Relations is generously sponsored by Marketwire, one of Canada's foremost news distribution and communications services companies. This year's media sponsor is 680 News.
Past recipients of the CPRS CEO Award of Excellence include:

  • Robert Deluce, President and CEO, Porter Airlines (2009-2010)
  • Galen G. Weston, Executive Chairman, Loblaw Companies Limited (2008-2009)
  • Frances Lankin, President and CEO, United Way of Greater Toronto (2007-2008)
  • The late Richard Bradshaw, General Director of the Canadian Opera Company (2006-2007)
  • Michael Budman and Don Green, co-founders of Roots Canada (2005-2006)
  • Wayne Sales, President and CEO of Canadian Tire (2004-2005)
  • Piers Handling, CEO of the Toronto International Film Festival (2003-2004)
  • Julian Fantino, Chief of the Toronto Police Force (2002-2003)
  • Charles Baillie, Chair, TD Bank Financial Group (2001-2002)
  • Dominic D'Alessandro, President and CEO, Manulife Financial (2000-2001)
  • Bobbie Gaunt, President and CEO, Ford Motor Company of Canada (1999-2000)
  • Diane McGarry, President and CEO, Xerox Canada Inc. (1998-1999)
  • Allan Stark, President and CEO, American Express Company Canada (1997-1998)
  • George Cohon, President and CEO, McDonald's Restaurants of Canada (1996-1997)
  • John Cassaday, President and CEO, CTV (1995-1996)
  • David Bloom, President and CEO, Shoppers Drug Mart (1992-1993)
  • Peter H. Ellis, President and CEO, Sunnybrook Medical Centre (1991-1992) 

Contact Information

  • For more information or to schedule an interview,
    please contact: Ani Chakmakian
    Media Relations, CEO Award Committee
    Lawrence Stevenson, APR
    Chair, CEO Award Committee