SOURCE: e.Republic


November 15, 2010 06:00 ET

MEDIA ADVISORY: GOVERNING Honors 2010 Public Officials of the Year

WASHINGTON, DC--(Marketwire - November 15, 2010) -


November 18th 5:30 p.m. 

Willard Hotel, Washington, DC 

Since their inception, the Public Officials of the Year awards have become the nation's preeminent honor for state and local officials. In its 17th year, the annual awards program recognizes leaders from state, city and county government for outstanding accomplishment in their department/agency, community or state.

2010 Public Officials of the Year:

Mick Cornett, Mayor, Oklahoma City, Okla. -- started by reducing obesity in his city -- 43,000 participating residents have already lost over 600,000 pounds -- and parlayed that into the remaking of the downtown into a sustainable, walkable core.

John Covington, Superintendent of Schools, Kansas City, Mo. -- transformed an underachieving school district with cost-cutting measures and a standards-based education improvement program.

Stephen Fletcher, Chief Information Officer, State of Utah -- built a widely acclaimed digital infrastructure and moved more services online than just about any other state, making Utah's website nationally recognized as one of the best in government.

Ana Gelabert-Sanchez, Former Planning Director, City of Miami -- was the driving force in designing Miami 21, the nation's most ambitious New Urbanist zoning code, shaping Miami's future as a sustainable place to live.

Sonny Perdue, Governor, State of Georgia -- turned Georgia into one of the best managed states in the country and shepherded landmark transportation funding and water conservation bills through the legislature.

Diana Urban, Representative, State of Connecticut -- the architect and prime mover behind Results Based Accountability legislation which requires all Connecticut state agencies to submit performance metrics along with budgets -- the first legislation of its kind in the United States.

John Whitmire, Senator, State of Texas and Jerry Madden, Representative, State of Texas - teamed up to oppose funding another round of prison building in Texas, opting for a smaller investment in treatment and diversion that has since become a model for corrections reformers everywhere.

More Info:
VIP reception: 5:30pm - 6:30pm Media are invited to interview the winners at this time. 
Note: Interviews are not available after 6:30pm.
Dinner/Awards Ceremony: 7:00pm Media are invited to cover the awards dinner.

GOVERNING is a division of e.Republic, a national publishing, event and research company focused on smart media for public sector innovation (