Canada Excellence Research Chairs

Canada Excellence Research Chairs

April 23, 2009 10:56 ET

Media Advisory: Government of Canada Announces Phase 1 Results for Prestigious Canada Excellence Research Chairs Program

OTTAWA, ONTARIO--(Marketwire - April 23, 2009) - The Honourable Tony Clement, Minister of Industry and Derek Burney, Chair of the Selection Board for the Canada Excellence Research Chairs (CERC) program, will announce the 17 Canadian universities that will compete for the world's top researchers.

Date: Thursday, April 23, 2009

Venue: Fairmont Chateau Laurier, Laurier Room

Time : 5 :00 p.m., followed by a reception

Speakers: - The Honourable Tony Clement, Minister of Industry
- Derek Burney, Chair of the CERC selection board
- Chad Gaffield, President of the Social Sciences and
Humanities Research Council of Canada and Chair of the CERC
steering committee

Editor's note: The Canada Excellence Research Chairs program provides 20 prestigious awards to help Canadian universities attract and support world-class researchers in four research areas of strategic importance to Canada: environmental sciences and technologies; natural resources and energy; health and related life sciences and technologies; and information and communication technologies. Each chair will receive close to $10 million over seven years to support their research.

For more information, visit

Contact Information

  • Office of the Honourable Tony Clement, Minister of Industry
    Pema Lhalungpa
    Press Secretary
    Canada Excellence Research Chairs
    Marie Lugli