Agriculture and Agri-Food Canada

Agriculture and Agri-Food Canada

December 15, 2011 18:53 ET

Media Advisory: Government of Canada Celebrates Marketing Freedom for Western Canadian Wheat and Barley Growers

OTTAWA, ONTARIO--(Marketwire - Dec. 15, 2011) - Agriculture Minister Gerry Ritz will be joined by Western farmers and members of the grain value chain in Balgonie, Saskatchewan, on Friday, December 16, to celebrate the passing of the Marketing Freedom for Grain Farmers Act. There will be a teleconference line available for media from across Canada to participate.

EVENT: Announcement
DATE: Friday, December 16
TIME: 9:00 a.m. (CST)
10:00 a.m. (EST)
LOCATION: Strudwick Farm
Balgonie, SK

From Regina, take Highway #1 east. Go 2 km past the highway overpass east of Balgonie and turn north. The farm is the second set of buildings on the right.

CALL IN DETAILS FOR THE NEWS CONFERENCE:

It will be possible to participate in the news conference via teleconference but you must register to access the call.

North American Dial-In: 1-877-413-4814
International/Local Dial-In: +1-613-960-7526
PassCode: 8824206
Conference Title: Press conference with Minister Ritz

DEPARTMENTAL TECHNICAL BRIEFING

The news conference will be preceded by a telephone briefing to be provided by officials from the Department of Agriculture and Agri-Food. The briefing is for background information only, not for attribution, and only journalists may participate.

Telephone Briefing
DATE: Friday, December 16
TIME: 8:15 a.m. (CST)
9:15 a.m. (EST)
CALL IN DETAILS TO PARTICIPATE
North American Dial-In: 1-877-413-4814
International/Local Dial-In: +1-613-960-7526
PassCode: 2685171
Conference Title: Background briefing

Contact Information

  • Media Relations
    Agriculture and Agri-Food Canada
    Ottawa, Ontario
    613-773-7972
    1-866-345-7972

    Jan Cote
    Regional Communications Officer
    AAFC Saskatchewan
    Office: 306-780-7076
    Cell: 306-529-7181