Governor General of Canada

Governor General of Canada

May 01, 2012 10:36 ET

Media Advisory: Governor General Celebrates the 20th Anniversary of the Performing Arts Awards

OTTAWA, ONTARIO--(Marketwire - May 1, 2012) - Their Excellencies the Right Honourable David Johnston, Governor General of Canada, and Mrs. Sharon Johnston will present the Governor General's Performing Arts Awards (GGPAA) during a ceremony at Rideau Hall, on Friday, May 4, 2012, at 6 p.m. Their Excellencies will also attend the National Arts Centre gala in Ottawa, on Saturday, May 5, 2012, which will feature outstanding performances, evocative film portraits and personal tributes made by special guests.

This year marks the 20th anniversary of the Governor General's Performing Arts Awards. Created in 1992, under the auspices of the late Right Honourable Ramon John Hnatyshyn, the GGPAA are presented each year to Canadian performers whose extraordinary lifetime achievements have contributed significantly to the enrichment of Canada's cultural life.

2012 GGPAA for Lifetime Artistic Achievement Award Laureates

Janina Fialkowska, concert pianist
Paul-André Fortier, dancer, choreographer, teacher and artistic director
Denis Marleau, theatre director, stage designer and artistic director
Deepa Mehta, film director and screenwriter
Rush, rock band
Mary Walsh, writer, comedian, director and political satirist

2012 Ramon John Hnatyshyn Award for Voluntarism in the Performing Arts Laureate

Earlaine Collins

2012 National Arts Centre Award Laureate

Des McAnuff, director, writer, composer and artistic director

About the Governor General's Performing Arts Awards (GGPAA)

The GGPAA are presented for Lifetime Artistic Achievement in the categories of theatre, dance, classical music, popular music, film and broadcasting. Recipients of these awards are nominated by the general public. Two complementary awards are also conferred each year. The Ramon John Hnatyshyn (RJH) Award for Voluntarism in the Performing Arts, which recognizes outstanding contributions by an individual or group in voluntary service to the performing arts in Canada. Recipients of this award are also nominated by the general public. The National Arts Centre (NAC) Award recognizes the work of an extraordinary nature by an individual artist or company in the past performance year. Recipients are selected by the NAC Board of Trustees from a list of candidates proposed by a nominating committee of NAC artistic programmers.

For more information on the Governor General Performing Arts Awards, please visit

Media interested in covering the award presentation on Friday evening are asked to confirm their attendance and arrive at the Princess Anne entrance no later than 5:50 p.m.

Follow GGDavidJohnston and RideauHall on Facebook and Twitter

Contact Information