Governor General of Canada

Governor General of Canada

January 27, 2011 09:23 ET

Media Advisory: Governor General Honours Achievements in Architecture

OTTAWA, ONTARIO--(Marketwire - Jan. 27, 2011) - His Excellency the Right Honourable David Johnston, Governor General of Canada, will present the 2010 Governor General's Medals in Architecture during a ceremony being held at Rideau Hall, on Monday, January 31, 2011, at 2:00 p.m.

The Governor General's Medals in Architecture recognize outstanding achievement in recently built projects by Canadian architects. This program, created by the Royal Architectural Institute of Canada (RAIC), contributes to the development of the discipline and practice of architecture, and increases public awareness of architecture as a vital cultural force in Canadian society. These awards are administered jointly by the RAIC and the Canada Council for the Arts, which is responsible for the adjudication process and contributes to the publication highlighting the medal winners. The winners were announced by the RAIC and the Canada Council for the Arts in April 2010.

The following projects will be honoured this year:

  • St-Germain Égoûts et Aqueducs – Allaire Courchesne Dupuis Frappier, architects (Montréal, Quebec)
  • French River Visitor Centre – Baird Sampson Neuert Architects (Toronto, Ontario)
  • Promenade Samuel-De Champlain – DAOUST LESTAGE inc. architecture design urbain (Montréal, Quebec)
  • Photographer's Studio Over a Boat House – gh3 (Toronto, Ontario)
  • Prefab Cottage for Two Families – Kohn Shnier Architects (Toronto, Ontario)
  • Royal Conservatory of Music, TELUS Centre for Performance and Learning – Kuwabara Payne McKenna Blumberg Architects (Toronto, Ontario)
  • La Grande Bibliothèque du Québec – Patkau / Croft Pelletier / Menkès Shooner Dagenais
    architectes associés (Vancouver, British Columbia)
  • Prud'Homme–Dulude Residence – Saucier + Perrotte architectes (Montréal, Quebec)
  • Scandinave Les Bains Vieux-Montréal – Saucier + Perrotte architectes (Montréal, Quebec)
  • Corkin Gallery – Shim-Sutcliffe Architects Inc. (Toronto, Ontario)
  • Craven Road Studio – Shim-Sutcliffe Architects Inc. (Toronto, Ontario)
  • Ravine Guest House – Shim-Sutcliffe Architects Inc. (Toronto, Ontario)

Descriptions and downloadable images of the architectural firms and their winning buildings are available at and

Media wishing to cover the ceremony are asked to confirm their presence in advance with the Rideau Hall Press Office, and must arrive at the Princess Anne Entrance no later than 1:45 p.m.

Contact Information