Governor General of Canada

Governor General of Canada

May 12, 2014 11:12 ET

Media Advisory: Governor General Honours Achievements in Architecture

OTTAWA, ONTARIO--(Marketwired - May 12, 2014) - His Excellency the Right Honourable David Johnston, Governor General of Canada, will present the 2014 Governor General's Medals in Architecture during a ceremony at Rideau Hall, on Tuesday, May 13, 2014, at 2 p.m.

The Governor General's Medals in Architecture recognize outstanding achievement in recently built projects by Canadian architects. This program, created by Royal Architecture Institute of Canada (RAIC) / Architecture Canada, contributes to the development of the discipline and practice of architecture, and increases public awareness of architecture as a vital cultural force in Canadian society. These awards are administered jointly by RAIC / Architecture Canada and the Canada Council for the Arts, which is responsible for the adjudication process and contributes to the publication highlighting the medal winners. The winners were announced by the RAIC and the Canada Council for the Arts in April.

The following projects will be honoured this year:

  • OMS Stage (Winnipeg, Manitoba) - 5468796 Architecture Inc.

  • Conversion of Mies van der Rohe Gas Station (Verdun, Quebec) - Les Architectes FABG

  • Raymond-Lévesque Public Library (Saint-Hubert, Quebec) - Atelier TAG and Jodoin Lamarre Pratte architectes

  • Centennial College Athletic and Wellness Centre (Toronto, Ontario) - Kongats Architects

  • Centre for International Governance Innovation (CIGI) Campus (Waterloo, Ontario) - KPMB Architects

  • Joseph L. Rotman School of Management Expansion Project (University of Toronto, Toronto, Ontario) - KPMB Architects

  • North Vancouver City Hall (North Vancouver, British Columbia) - Lead design architect: MGA / Michael Green Architecture

  • Tula House (Quadra Island, British Columbia) - Patkau Architects Inc.

  • Faculty of Pharmaceutical Sciences and Centre for Drug Research and Development (University of British Columbia, Vancouver, British Columbia) - Saucier + Perrotte architectes / Hughes Condon Marler Architects

  • Residence for the Sisters of St. Joseph of Toronto (Toronto, Ontario) - Shim-Sutcliffe Architects Inc.

  • 60 Richmond East Housing Co-operative (Toronto, Ontario) - Teeple Architects Inc.

  • The Bloor Gladstone Library (Toronto, Ontario) - RDH Architects Inc. in association with Shoalts and Zaback Architects Ltd.

Descriptions and downloadable images of the architectural firms and their winning buildings are available at and

Media wishing to cover the ceremony are asked to confirm their presence in advance with the Rideau Hall Press Office, and must arrive at the Princess Anne Entrance no later than 1:45 p.m.

Follow GGDavidJohnston and RideauHall on Facebook and Twitter

Contact Information